u/fanf2/draft-fanf-dnsop-aname.git
22 months agoRemove value judgment "ideal" master
Tony Finch [Tue, 30 Oct 2018 17:33:51 +0000 (17:33 +0000)]
Remove value judgment "ideal"

Suggested-by: Ray Bellis <ray@bellis.me.uk>
22 months agoAdd IETF legal boilerplate
Tony Finch [Mon, 29 Oct 2018 12:04:56 +0000 (12:04 +0000)]
Add IETF legal boilerplate

23 months agoregen draft-ietf-dnsop-aname-02
Tony Finch [Fri, 19 Oct 2018 12:59:50 +0000 (14:59 +0200)]
regen

23 months agowhitespace
Tony Finch [Fri, 19 Oct 2018 12:59:17 +0000 (14:59 +0200)]
whitespace

23 months agoLink to github and include draft number in changelog
Tony Finch [Fri, 19 Oct 2018 12:58:24 +0000 (14:58 +0200)]
Link to github and include draft number in changelog

23 months agoAnother way to talk about "secondaries" that expand ANAME
Tony Finch [Tue, 16 Oct 2018 16:44:03 +0000 (18:44 +0200)]
Another way to talk about "secondaries" that expand ANAME

23 months agoMove note about frequency of zone transfers
Tony Finch [Tue, 16 Oct 2018 16:23:12 +0000 (18:23 +0200)]
Move note about frequency of zone transfers

It belongs in the implications sub-section and isn't
relevant to the discussion about TTLs

23 months agoTTL discussion to be moved to issue #30
Tony Finch [Tue, 16 Oct 2018 16:15:41 +0000 (18:15 +0200)]
TTL discussion to be moved to issue #30

23 months agoRationale appendix for Additional vs Answer section
Tony Finch [Tue, 16 Oct 2018 16:06:06 +0000 (18:06 +0200)]
Rationale appendix for Additional vs Answer section

Just contains discussion between MM and TF for now.

23 months agoClarify the meaning of "address records"
Tony Finch [Tue, 16 Oct 2018 15:58:09 +0000 (17:58 +0200)]
Clarify the meaning of "address records"

Especially the difference between zero records and failure.

23 months agoAvoid lower-case RFC 2119 keywords to avoid misunderstandings.
Tony Finch [Tue, 16 Oct 2018 10:22:20 +0000 (12:22 +0200)]
Avoid lower-case RFC 2119 keywords to avoid misunderstandings.

23 months agoAdd note about ANAME processing and number of XFRs
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 10:19:53 +0000 (12:19 +0200)]
Add note about ANAME processing and number of XFRs

23 months agoAdd discussion topic for TTL
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 10:17:21 +0000 (12:17 +0200)]
Add discussion topic for TTL

23 months agoAdd Dyn to the list of vendors
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 10:13:47 +0000 (12:13 +0200)]
Add Dyn to the list of vendors

23 months agoAdd discussion topic for additional section content
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 10:00:54 +0000 (12:00 +0200)]
Add discussion topic for additional section content

23 months agoClarification
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 09:51:08 +0000 (11:51 +0200)]
Clarification

Mention explicit that ANAME just redirects the address records of
the owner name, not "the owner name" (this may imply that everything
at the owner name is redirected).

23 months agoWill be altered -> may be altered
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 09:50:02 +0000 (11:50 +0200)]
Will be altered -> may be altered

I think the ANAME resolution does not require existing records to
be altered, in case of resolution failure existing records may be
used as fallback.

23 months agoReplace word 'often'
Matthijs Mekking [Mon, 15 Oct 2018 09:30:33 +0000 (11:30 +0200)]
Replace word 'often'

'Often' is not a measurable thing, and there is no references
that indicate this is indeed often desirable. It may be better to
use 'may be'.

23 months agoregen
Tony Finch [Sun, 14 Oct 2018 07:01:06 +0000 (09:01 +0200)]
regen

23 months agoSet sibling TTLs to maximum of ANAME TTL and target TTL
Tony Finch [Sun, 14 Oct 2018 07:00:06 +0000 (09:00 +0200)]
Set sibling TTLs to maximum of ANAME TTL and target TTL

23 months agoA couple more trivial fixes
Tony Finch [Sat, 13 Oct 2018 15:25:17 +0000 (17:25 +0200)]
A couple more trivial fixes

23 months agotrivial edits
Evan Hunt [Sat, 13 Oct 2018 14:49:31 +0000 (16:49 +0200)]
trivial edits

- fixed spelling mistakes
- a few different word choices
- capitalize Additional and Authority when referring to message sections

23 months agoupdate time and rendered docs
Tony Finch [Sat, 13 Oct 2018 11:47:48 +0000 (13:47 +0200)]
update time and rendered docs

23 months agoDirect people to the right repo and tools
Tony Finch [Sat, 13 Oct 2018 11:18:52 +0000 (13:18 +0200)]
Direct people to the right repo and tools

23 months agoRename officially
Tony Finch [Sat, 13 Oct 2018 11:18:35 +0000 (13:18 +0200)]
Rename officially

23 months agoTake over from each
Tony Finch [Sat, 13 Oct 2018 10:27:30 +0000 (12:27 +0200)]
Take over from each

23 months agoupdate timestamp
Tony Finch [Fri, 12 Oct 2018 11:33:35 +0000 (12:33 +0100)]
update timestamp

23 months agoInclude rendered versions in repository
Tony Finch [Fri, 12 Oct 2018 11:33:23 +0000 (12:33 +0100)]
Include rendered versions in repository

23 months agoUpdate rendered versions
Tony Finch [Fri, 12 Oct 2018 11:32:51 +0000 (12:32 +0100)]
Update rendered versions

23 months agoFirst pass DONE!
Tony Finch [Fri, 12 Oct 2018 10:50:12 +0000 (11:50 +0100)]
First pass DONE!

23 months agoImplications
Tony Finch [Fri, 12 Oct 2018 08:38:18 +0000 (09:38 +0100)]
Implications

23 months agouse $GOPATH to find mmark
Tony Finch [Thu, 11 Oct 2018 21:16:14 +0000 (22:16 +0100)]
use $GOPATH to find mmark

23 months agoWeirdly this version of mmark insists on full datetime
Tony Finch [Thu, 11 Oct 2018 21:15:59 +0000 (22:15 +0100)]
Weirdly this version of mmark insists on full datetime

23 months agoSwitch to atx headers - mmark does not properly support setext (yet?)
Tony Finch [Thu, 11 Oct 2018 21:15:06 +0000 (22:15 +0100)]
Switch to atx headers - mmark does not properly support setext (yet?)

23 months agowip
Tony Finch [Thu, 11 Oct 2018 16:47:17 +0000 (17:47 +0100)]
wip

23 months agoThoughts on TTLs
Tony Finch [Thu, 11 Oct 2018 14:45:14 +0000 (15:45 +0100)]
Thoughts on TTLs

23 months agoGenerate html using xml2rfc
Tony Finch [Wed, 10 Oct 2018 13:39:34 +0000 (14:39 +0100)]
Generate html using xml2rfc

23 months agowip
Tony Finch [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 18:09:37 +0000 (19:09 +0100)]
wip

23 months agoupdate date stamp
Tony Finch [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 18:08:47 +0000 (19:08 +0100)]
update date stamp

23 months agoRemove headers from the text version
Tony Finch [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 17:46:33 +0000 (18:46 +0100)]
Remove headers from the text version

I'll probably only submit the xml so this text version is just
for my use.

23 months agoPreening; add security considerations.
Tony Finch [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 17:46:16 +0000 (18:46 +0100)]
Preening; add security considerations.

23 months agoLots of text
Tony Finch [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 16:35:45 +0000 (17:35 +0100)]
Lots of text

23 months agogitignore .txt
Tony Finch [Tue, 9 Oct 2018 16:35:21 +0000 (17:35 +0100)]
gitignore .txt

23 months agoBuild text version; needs xml2rfc v2 format.
Tony Finch [Mon, 8 Oct 2018 15:38:07 +0000 (16:38 +0100)]
Build text version; needs xml2rfc v2 format.

23 months agoauto-update draft date
Tony Finch [Mon, 8 Oct 2018 12:42:31 +0000 (13:42 +0100)]
auto-update draft date

23 months agoSome basic rubric
Tony Finch [Mon, 8 Oct 2018 12:29:56 +0000 (13:29 +0100)]
Some basic rubric

23 months agoStart
Tony Finch [Mon, 8 Oct 2018 11:43:48 +0000 (12:43 +0100)]
Start

2 years agoadd @matje to acknowledgments.
Evan Hunt [Thu, 12 Jul 2018 22:09:45 +0000 (15:09 -0700)]
add @matje to acknowledgments.

(note: should he be added as co-author at this point?)

2 years agoMerge pull request #28 from matje/issue-27-expanding-vs-retaining
Evan Hunt [Thu, 12 Jul 2018 22:08:03 +0000 (15:08 -0700)]
Merge pull request #28 from matje/issue-27-expanding-vs-retaining

Suggested text on zone transfers (#27)

2 years agoMerge pull request #26 from matje/issue-25-fallback-vs-override
Evan Hunt [Thu, 12 Jul 2018 22:07:42 +0000 (15:07 -0700)]
Merge pull request #26 from matje/issue-25-fallback-vs-override

Provide text for ANAME fallback (#25)

2 years agofix incorrect terminology
Evan Hunt [Thu, 12 Jul 2018 22:04:06 +0000 (15:04 -0700)]
fix incorrect terminology

2 years agoSuggested text on zone transfers (#27)
Matthijs Mekking [Thu, 5 Apr 2018 12:12:58 +0000 (14:12 +0200)]
Suggested text on zone transfers (#27)

2 years agoProvide text for ANAME fallback (#25)
Matthijs Mekking [Thu, 5 Apr 2018 10:14:38 +0000 (12:14 +0200)]
Provide text for ANAME fallback (#25)

This introduces the term "fallback records".  This changes A and AAAA
records at the same name as ANAME to be fallback records, instead of
"already expanded".

Add text for when fallback records may be used.

2 years agoaddress some of tony finch's review comments
Evan Hunt [Sat, 10 Feb 2018 02:33:14 +0000 (18:33 -0800)]
address some of tony finch's review comments

2 years agosome text clarifications; update to -02 for later resubmission
Evan Hunt [Sat, 10 Feb 2018 00:21:01 +0000 (16:21 -0800)]
some text clarifications; update to -02 for later resubmission

2 years agonit, thanks @stbuehler
Peter van Dijk [Fri, 26 Jan 2018 09:08:09 +0000 (10:08 +0100)]
nit, thanks @stbuehler

2 years agonit, thanks @stbuehler
Peter van Dijk [Fri, 26 Jan 2018 09:07:08 +0000 (10:07 +0100)]
nit, thanks @stbuehler

2 years agos/master/primary/
Evan Hunt [Thu, 25 Jan 2018 23:46:05 +0000 (15:46 -0800)]
s/master/primary/

2 years agoupdate filenames to new version number
Evan Hunt [Fri, 12 Jan 2018 05:27:54 +0000 (21:27 -0800)]
update filenames to new version number

2 years agoupdate version
Evan Hunt [Fri, 12 Jan 2018 05:23:36 +0000 (21:23 -0800)]
update version

2 years agoclarify security consideration about validation issues
Evan Hunt [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 20:58:31 +0000 (12:58 -0800)]
clarify security consideration about validation issues

2 years agorebuild
Evan Hunt [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 20:47:29 +0000 (12:47 -0800)]
rebuild

2 years agoadd examples
Evan Hunt [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 20:42:40 +0000 (12:42 -0800)]
add examples

2 years agorevise/clarify the text forbidding more than one ANAME target
Evan Hunt [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 20:25:03 +0000 (12:25 -0800)]
revise/clarify the text forbidding more than one ANAME target

2 years agochange "should" to SHOULD and clarify ECS caching
Evan Hunt [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 20:15:33 +0000 (12:15 -0800)]
change "should" to SHOULD and clarify ECS caching

2 years agodiscuss future non-A/AAAA address types. update expiry date.
Evan Hunt [Thu, 11 Jan 2018 20:04:42 +0000 (12:04 -0800)]
discuss future non-A/AAAA address types. update expiry date.

closes #10

3 years agorebuild xml and txt for submission
Evan Hunt [Tue, 4 Jul 2017 06:45:30 +0000 (23:45 -0700)]
rebuild xml and txt for submission

3 years agotypos
Evan Hunt [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 22:41:34 +0000 (15:41 -0700)]
typos

3 years agodiscuss promotion of unsigned data to signed in security considerations.
Evan Hunt [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 21:24:37 +0000 (14:24 -0700)]
discuss promotion of unsigned data to signed in security considerations.

closes #15

3 years agoclarify that only address record TTLs count down in an auth server.
Evan Hunt [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 20:52:29 +0000 (13:52 -0700)]
clarify that only address record TTLs count down in an auth server.

closes #18

3 years agosome grammar fixes, added reference to NSEC/NSEC3 for NXDOMAIN/NODATA
Evan Hunt [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 20:32:32 +0000 (13:32 -0700)]
some grammar fixes, added reference to NSEC/NSEC3 for NXDOMAIN/NODATA

3 years agohalf stab at examples, closes #14
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 12:35:51 +0000 (14:35 +0200)]
half stab at examples, closes #14

3 years agosomewhat address NXDOMAIN&co, closes #20
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 12:15:30 +0000 (14:15 +0200)]
somewhat address NXDOMAIN&co, closes #20

3 years agoupdate wording around expansion, closes #19
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 11:38:22 +0000 (13:38 +0200)]
update wording around expansion, closes #19

3 years agonote non-apex usage, closes #6
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 11:32:30 +0000 (13:32 +0200)]
note non-apex usage, closes #6

3 years agonote that amazon also has a similar feature
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 11:29:50 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
note that amazon also has a similar feature

3 years agomore words on "bypassing local policy". Closes #7
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 11:28:29 +0000 (13:28 +0200)]
more words on "bypassing local policy". Closes #7

3 years agoclarify minimum TTL from chain, closes #9
Peter van Dijk [Mon, 3 Jul 2017 10:37:14 +0000 (12:37 +0200)]
clarify minimum TTL from chain, closes #9

3 years agochange name to draft-ietf-dnsop-aname-00
Evan Hunt [Sat, 27 May 2017 21:20:53 +0000 (14:20 -0700)]
change name to draft-ietf-dnsop-aname-00

3 years agoignore files that are likely to be lying around
Peter van Dijk [Wed, 12 Apr 2017 19:16:52 +0000 (21:16 +0200)]
ignore files that are likely to be lying around

3 years agoadd list of terms that have been used for this, and "implementation status"
Evan Hunt [Tue, 11 Apr 2017 00:06:39 +0000 (17:06 -0700)]
add list of terms that have been used for this, and "implementation status"

3 years agoupdate version number
Evan Hunt [Mon, 10 Apr 2017 17:40:15 +0000 (10:40 -0700)]
update version number

3 years agoedit document date
Evan Hunt [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 18:01:55 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
edit document date

3 years agonit
Evan Hunt [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 17:59:57 +0000 (10:59 -0700)]
nit

3 years agonote relation to existing implementations
Peter van Dijk [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 07:39:49 +0000 (09:39 +0200)]
note relation to existing implementations

3 years agofurther clarification
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 21:46:48 +0000 (14:46 -0700)]
further clarification

3 years agogrammar
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 21:45:08 +0000 (14:45 -0700)]
grammar

3 years agorestore job's language, fix NSEC bit map rule
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 19:11:57 +0000 (12:11 -0700)]
restore job's language, fix NSEC bit map rule

3 years agofix an ambiguity
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 02:36:55 +0000 (19:36 -0700)]
fix an ambiguity

3 years agoremove final "remove before publication"
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 02:30:52 +0000 (19:30 -0700)]
remove final "remove before publication"

3 years agomore clarifications
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 02:30:19 +0000 (19:30 -0700)]
more clarifications

3 years agoreplace Håkan with Hakan
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 00:30:12 +0000 (17:30 -0700)]
replace Håkan with Hakan

try as I might, I haven't found any way to make pandoc render an
a-ring diacritic correctly to text or HTML.

3 years agoget rid of authoritative fallback
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 00:29:05 +0000 (17:29 -0700)]
get rid of authoritative fallback

3 years agominor cleanups
Evan Hunt [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 00:11:37 +0000 (17:11 -0700)]
minor cleanups

3 years agoclarify TTL requirements in secondaries
Evan Hunt [Wed, 5 Apr 2017 20:46:51 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
clarify TTL requirements in secondaries

3 years agoaddress some minor issues pointed out by mukund
Evan Hunt [Wed, 5 Apr 2017 20:32:21 +0000 (13:32 -0700)]
address some minor issues pointed out by mukund

3 years agomakefile improvements
Evan Hunt [Wed, 5 Apr 2017 20:24:36 +0000 (13:24 -0700)]
makefile improvements

3 years agoupdate txt+xml
Peter van Dijk [Wed, 5 Apr 2017 10:15:56 +0000 (12:15 +0200)]
update txt+xml

3 years agoacknowledge
Peter van Dijk [Wed, 5 Apr 2017 10:14:54 +0000 (12:14 +0200)]
acknowledge

3 years agospelling
Peter van Dijk [Wed, 5 Apr 2017 10:13:36 +0000 (12:13 +0200)]
spelling