u/dwm37/reports/weakdh.git
5 years agoFix incorrect word "The" to "This". master
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 22:38:20 +0000 (23:38 +0100)]
Fix incorrect word "The" to "This".

5 years agoUpdate Wikipedia meta-citation to refer explicitly to current version.
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 13:44:08 +0000 (14:44 +0100)]
Update Wikipedia meta-citation to refer explicitly to current version.

5 years agoImprove language used at end of introduction.
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 13:29:48 +0000 (14:29 +0100)]
Improve language used at end of introduction.

5 years agoAdd paragraph to warn that criminals will mimic state agencies.
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 11:19:52 +0000 (12:19 +0100)]
Add paragraph to warn that criminals will mimic state agencies.

Regardless of whether you believe that the NSA, GCHQ, etc. are on
our side, the attacks that they perform today are the same that
criminals can do tomorrow, unless we protect against them.

5 years agoUpdate version number of the next expected PuTTY feature release.
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 11:13:50 +0000 (12:13 +0100)]
Update version number of the next expected PuTTY feature release.

An intermediate 0.65 bug-fix release is planned, so the next PuTTY
feature release is now expected to be 0.66.

5 years agoEditing pass to clean-up language.
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 11:12:29 +0000 (12:12 +0100)]
Editing pass to clean-up language.

5 years agoAdd introduction and remove explicit version number.
David McBride [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 10:57:17 +0000 (11:57 +0100)]
Add introduction and remove explicit version number.

Add an introduction to the beginning of the document to explain
what it is for.

The version number is now less useful given this document is
now stored in public revision control.  Move the other document
meta-data (date of update, expiration date) to the head of
the document.

5 years agoAdd version 3, which is the first version marked as RELEASED.
David McBride [Mon, 22 Jun 2015 15:37:02 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
Add version 3, which is the first version marked as RELEASED.

The significant changes since the previous DRAFT 2 are:

 * Fix the incorrect reference to a REQUIRES clause in RFC4253.
 * Fix the numbering of Debian releases when quoting OpenSSH versions,
   and add codenames to aid disambiguation.
 * Make clear that our recommendations are appropriate for today, but
   should change over time as the world changes.
 * Suggest that low-power devices should perhaps support EC DH and
   ciphers exclusively because of their reduced computational
   requirements.
 * Elaborate that the currently understood safe set size for a DH group
   is 2048 bits, and that our recommendation for >= 4096 is stronger
   than strictly required.