ipreg/nsdiff.git
2 months agonsdiff-1.81 trunk nsdiff-1.81
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 22:14:01 +0000 (23:14 +0100)]
nsdiff-1.81

2 months agodist: skip web directory
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 22:12:29 +0000 (23:12 +0100)]
dist: skip web directory

2 months agodist: once more with feeling
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 22:10:10 +0000 (23:10 +0100)]
dist: once more with feeling

2 months agodist: don't fail to upload if there's no dist tarball
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 22:07:16 +0000 (23:07 +0100)]
dist: don't fail to upload if there's no dist tarball

2 months agodist: switch to ExtUtils::MakeMaker
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 21:55:07 +0000 (22:55 +0100)]
dist: switch to ExtUtils::MakeMaker

This is to prepare for uploading to CPAN, and should make it
easier to produce a .deb of the correct shape.

2 months agonsdiff-1.80 nsdiff-1.80
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 21:52:06 +0000 (22:52 +0100)]
nsdiff-1.80

This is a place-holder tag before I commit the new build system

2 months agodist: slightly simpler version number updates
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 20:35:50 +0000 (21:35 +0100)]
dist: slightly simpler version number updates

2 months agonsdiff: cross-reference to nsvi in the man page
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 18:59:52 +0000 (19:59 +0100)]
nsdiff: cross-reference to nsvi in the man page

2 months agodist: fix README markup
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 18:59:34 +0000 (19:59 +0100)]
dist: fix README markup

2 months agodist: a place-holder module for overview docs
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 18:57:46 +0000 (19:57 +0100)]
dist: a place-holder module for overview docs

CPAN users generally expect to get started with `perldoc <distname>`

2 months agodist: add SPDX tags
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 18:29:20 +0000 (19:29 +0100)]
dist: add SPDX tags

2 months agonsvi: thanks
Tony Finch [Fri, 3 Jul 2020 18:25:58 +0000 (19:25 +0100)]
nsvi: thanks

3 months agonsdiff: improve terminology
Tony Finch [Thu, 25 Jun 2020 21:21:31 +0000 (22:21 +0100)]
nsdiff: improve terminology

3 months agonsvi: tell nsdiff to get the old zone from localhost by default
Tony Finch [Thu, 25 Jun 2020 21:17:31 +0000 (22:17 +0100)]
nsvi: tell nsdiff to get the old zone from localhost by default

But nsvi is a bit different because it assumes by default it is
running on the update server. And it also assumes that it will work to
use nsdiff's default mode of diffing against the current state of the
DNS. So, if the user has a test zone disconnedted from the DNS, nsvi
can easily get into a situation where it presents them with a zone
file to edit, and later runs nsdiff in a way that can't work.

So when the user doesn't provide a -s option, tell nsdiff to get the
old zone from localhost same as we did before the edit, which also
matches the way we invoke nsupdate.

Reported-by: Petr Menšík <pemensik@redhat.com>
3 months agonsvi: do the correct default action as indicated in prompts
Tony Finch [Thu, 25 Jun 2020 21:15:17 +0000 (22:15 +0100)]
nsvi: do the correct default action as indicated in prompts

The stray '\n' in the regexes were matching when they
should not have.

Reported-by: Petr Menšík <pemensik@redhat.com>
5 months agonsdiff-1.79 nsdiff-1.79
Tony Finch [Mon, 27 Apr 2020 16:34:35 +0000 (17:34 +0100)]
nsdiff-1.79

5 months agoDrop TYPE65534 from the list of DNSSEC records to ignore.
Tony Finch [Mon, 27 Apr 2020 16:05:48 +0000 (17:05 +0100)]
Drop TYPE65534 from the list of DNSSEC records to ignore.

TYPE65534 is the private type that BIND uses to keep track of
incremental signing. These records usually end up hanging around after
signing is complete, cluttering up the zone. It would be neater if
they were removed automatically.

An UPDATE request can remove the TYPE65534 records iff signing is
complete. Any request to remove them is ignored while signing is in
progress. (The rest of the update is still applied.) This means that
we can safely treat TYPE65534 records like normal zone contents.

After this change you can clean away TYPE65534 records using nsdiff or
nsvi. In our deployment, where we use nspatch to make a zone match its
source data, the TYPE65534 records will be automatically cleaned when
they are not needed.

8 months agoMakefile: no point supporting original link now it has been killed
Tony Finch [Mon, 20 Jan 2020 21:32:57 +0000 (21:32 +0000)]
Makefile: no point supporting original link now it has been killed

8 months agonsdiff-1.78 nsdiff-1.78
Tony Finch [Mon, 20 Jan 2020 21:31:18 +0000 (21:31 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.78

8 months agonsvi: ignore CDS/CDNSKEY records by default
Tony Finch [Mon, 20 Jan 2020 19:29:27 +0000 (19:29 +0000)]
nsvi: ignore CDS/CDNSKEY records by default

Should have done this at the same time as nsdiff!

8 months agonsdiff: fix synopsis in man page
Tony Finch [Mon, 20 Jan 2020 19:28:11 +0000 (19:28 +0000)]
nsdiff: fix synopsis in man page

20 months agonsdiff-1.77 nsdiff-1.77
Tony Finch [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 19:12:46 +0000 (19:12 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.77

20 months agonsdiff: ignore CDS/CDNSKEY records by default
Tony Finch [Tue, 29 Jan 2019 19:10:19 +0000 (19:10 +0000)]
nsdiff: ignore CDS/CDNSKEY records by default

They are normally managed by `dnssec-settime` on the key files
(like DNSKEY records), not as part of the zone file.

22 months agonsdiff-1.76 nsdiff-1.76
Tony Finch [Fri, 9 Nov 2018 14:59:07 +0000 (14:59 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.76

22 months agonsdiff: document serial number handling
Tony Finch [Fri, 9 Nov 2018 14:58:19 +0000 (14:58 +0000)]
nsdiff: document serial number handling

2 years agos/http:/https:/g
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 18:18:48 +0000 (18:18 +0000)]
s/http:/https:/g

2 years agonsdiff-1.75 nsdiff-1.75
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 18:14:36 +0000 (18:14 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.75

2 years agogitignore doc build files
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 18:13:15 +0000 (18:13 +0000)]
gitignore doc build files

2 years agoMake: pod2html is now less broken
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 18:11:39 +0000 (18:11 +0000)]
Make: pod2html is now less broken

2 years agoMake: update location of back-compat URL
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 18:04:58 +0000 (18:04 +0000)]
Make: update location of back-compat URL

2 years agonsdiff-1.74 nsdiff-1.74
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 18:00:06 +0000 (18:00 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.74

2 years agonsdiff: ensure the SOA is updated even if only the SOA differs
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 17:51:35 +0000 (17:51 +0000)]
nsdiff: ensure the SOA is updated even if only the SOA differs

Reported-by: JP Mens <jp@mens.de>
2 years agoREADME: endorsement from JP Mens
Tony Finch [Sun, 26 Nov 2017 17:40:59 +0000 (17:40 +0000)]
README: endorsement from JP Mens

https://twitter.com/jpmens/status/934101012121640960

4 years agomake: ensure README is up-to-date before uploading
Tony Finch [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 15:08:36 +0000 (15:08 +0000)]
make: ensure README is up-to-date before uploading

4 years agonsdiff-1.73 nsdiff-1.73
Tony Finch [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 11:51:19 +0000 (11:51 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.73

4 years agonsvi: thanks to Aversiste
Tony Finch [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 11:50:17 +0000 (11:50 +0000)]
nsvi: thanks to Aversiste

4 years agonsdiff: refer to nspatch as a solution to the second caveat in the manual
Tony Finch [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 11:29:06 +0000 (11:29 +0000)]
nsdiff: refer to nspatch as a solution to the second caveat in the manual

4 years agonsvi: interactivity improvements
Tony Finch [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 11:25:56 +0000 (11:25 +0000)]
nsvi: interactivity improvements

Change the -i option to -n to avoid a potential clash with nsdiff's
-i option.

Add a third option to the confirmation prompt allowing the user
to re-edit.

Fix the retry prompt to indicate that N is the default if the user
just presses enter.

4 years agonsvi: add interactive mode with option -i
Tristan Le Guern [Thu, 28 Jan 2016 10:43:12 +0000 (11:43 +0100)]
nsvi: add interactive mode with option -i

With this option nsvi(1) will print the diff generated by nsdiff(1)
followed by a confirmation message and a yes/no choice before calling
nsupdate(1).

4 years agonsdiff-1.72 nsdiff-1.72
Tony Finch [Wed, 16 Dec 2015 20:27:31 +0000 (20:27 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.72

4 years agonspatch: check -- dividers are used correctly
Tony Finch [Thu, 19 Nov 2015 14:50:59 +0000 (14:50 +0000)]
nspatch: check -- dividers are used correctly

5 years agonsdiff: allow empty SOA RNAME fields
Tony Finch [Mon, 21 Sep 2015 15:29:22 +0000 (16:29 +0100)]
nsdiff: allow empty SOA RNAME fields

5 years agonsdiff-1.71 nsdiff-1.71
Tony Finch [Tue, 28 Jul 2015 22:48:31 +0000 (23:48 +0100)]
nsdiff-1.71

5 years agonsdiff: fix uninitialized variable warning
Tony Finch [Tue, 28 Jul 2015 22:47:16 +0000 (23:47 +0100)]
nsdiff: fix uninitialized variable warning

5 years agonsdiff-1.70 nsdiff-1.70
Tony Finch [Thu, 23 Jul 2015 00:08:04 +0000 (01:08 +0100)]
nsdiff-1.70

5 years agoAdd nsvi to the build gubbins and README.
Tony Finch [Thu, 23 Jul 2015 00:07:19 +0000 (01:07 +0100)]
Add nsvi to the build gubbins and README.

5 years agonsvi: avoid L<pod links> so we don't have to worry about podpath
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 23:55:08 +0000 (00:55 +0100)]
nsvi: avoid L<pod links> so we don't have to worry about podpath

5 years agonsvi: tweak wording in manual
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 23:36:24 +0000 (00:36 +0100)]
nsvi: tweak wording in manual

5 years agonsvi: nearly working?
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 23:32:41 +0000 (00:32 +0100)]
nsvi: nearly working?

5 years agonsvi: zone transfer and cleaning
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 22:34:58 +0000 (23:34 +0100)]
nsvi: zone transfer and cleaning

5 years agonsvi: some initial bits
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 21:07:31 +0000 (22:07 +0100)]
nsvi: some initial bits

5 years agonsdiff: fix -s server#port -u
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 20:52:00 +0000 (21:52 +0100)]
nsdiff: fix -s server#port -u

5 years agonsdiff: credit Jordan Rieger
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 19:26:57 +0000 (20:26 +0100)]
nsdiff: credit Jordan Rieger

5 years agonsdiff: neater case-insensitivity
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 18:02:39 +0000 (19:02 +0100)]
nsdiff: neater case-insensitivity

5 years agonsdiff: consistent sorting order in option lists
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 16:31:14 +0000 (17:31 +0100)]
nsdiff: consistent sorting order in option lists

5 years agonsdiff: optional case-insensitive comparison
Tony Finch [Wed, 22 Jul 2015 16:25:41 +0000 (17:25 +0100)]
nsdiff: optional case-insensitive comparison

Suggested-by: Jordan Rieger <jordan@webnames.ca>
5 years agomake: use rsync to upload
Tony Finch [Wed, 8 Jul 2015 19:38:15 +0000 (20:38 +0100)]
make: use rsync to upload

5 years agonsdiff: fix SOA regex to allow unusual syntax
Tony Finch [Wed, 8 Jul 2015 19:26:52 +0000 (20:26 +0100)]
nsdiff: fix SOA regex to allow unusual syntax

The SOA RNAME field is not a hostname. Allow backslash-quoted
metacharacters, like the example in section 5.3 of RCF 1035.

The hostname regex no longer accepts address records at the root apex.

Zone names do not have to be hostnames, for example, RFC 2317
classless reverse DNS zones with / in the name, or leaf zones
containing SOA records at the apex.

Reported-by: Jordan Rieger <jordan@webnames.ca>
5 years agonsdiff: rename $domain -> $hostname
Tony Finch [Wed, 8 Jul 2015 19:20:30 +0000 (20:20 +0100)]
nsdiff: rename $domain -> $hostname

Domains are not just LDH.

5 years agonsdiff-1.61 nsdiff-1.61
Tony Finch [Mon, 6 Jul 2015 15:59:05 +0000 (16:59 +0100)]
nsdiff-1.61

5 years agoSuppress special --help and --version options
Tony Finch [Sun, 14 Jun 2015 23:43:54 +0000 (00:43 +0100)]
Suppress special --help and --version options

5 years agonspatch: use File::Temp properly
Tony Finch [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 14:53:22 +0000 (14:53 +0000)]
nspatch: use File::Temp properly

5 years agonsdiff-1.60 nsdiff-1.60
Tony Finch [Fri, 6 Mar 2015 11:37:27 +0000 (11:37 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.60

5 years agoreversion: strip .X dirty marks
Tony Finch [Fri, 6 Mar 2015 11:37:21 +0000 (11:37 +0000)]
reversion: strip .X dirty marks

5 years agoFix the release process to stop muddling version numbers
Tony Finch [Fri, 6 Mar 2015 11:35:58 +0000 (11:35 +0000)]
Fix the release process to stop muddling version numbers

5 years agonspatch: need two different tmp file functions nsdiff-1.58 nsdiff-1.59
Tony Finch [Fri, 27 Feb 2015 17:18:01 +0000 (17:18 +0000)]
nspatch: need two different tmp file functions

5 years agoBump version
Tony Finch [Fri, 27 Feb 2015 16:19:28 +0000 (16:19 +0000)]
Bump version

5 years agonspatch: clean up debug code and simplify tempfile deletion
Tony Finch [Fri, 27 Feb 2015 14:08:19 +0000 (14:08 +0000)]
nspatch: clean up debug code and simplify tempfile deletion

5 years agonspatch: trace unlink of undef variables
Tony Finch [Wed, 25 Feb 2015 17:03:34 +0000 (17:03 +0000)]
nspatch: trace unlink of undef variables

5 years agopatch: does moving the END block fix it?
Tony Finch [Wed, 25 Feb 2015 16:57:30 +0000 (16:57 +0000)]
patch: does moving the END block fix it?

The problem with leaving behind tmp files seems to be due
to the END block picking up the original values of the
variables, so it fails to delete the files named by the
second values.

Maybe this re-arrangement will fix it...

5 years agonspatch: debugging failure to remove tmpfiles nsdiff-1.57.1
Tony Finch [Thu, 19 Feb 2015 12:26:58 +0000 (12:26 +0000)]
nspatch: debugging failure to remove tmpfiles

5 years agonsdiff-1.57 nsdiff-1.57
Tony Finch [Tue, 3 Feb 2015 15:49:58 +0000 (15:49 +0000)]
nsdiff-1.57

5 years agonspatch: avoid undef warnings
Tony Finch [Tue, 3 Feb 2015 15:49:09 +0000 (15:49 +0000)]
nspatch: avoid undef warnings

5 years agoBump version nsdiff-1.56
Tony Finch [Tue, 3 Feb 2015 14:26:15 +0000 (14:26 +0000)]
Bump version

5 years agonspatch: less repetition
Tony Finch [Sun, 25 Jan 2015 01:48:21 +0000 (01:48 +0000)]
nspatch: less repetition

5 years agoBump version
Tony Finch [Tue, 3 Feb 2015 14:26:15 +0000 (14:26 +0000)]
Bump version

5 years agoInstall nspatch
Tony Finch [Tue, 3 Feb 2015 14:25:35 +0000 (14:25 +0000)]
Install nspatch

5 years agoREADME: fix link
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 19:17:39 +0000 (19:17 +0000)]
README: fix link

5 years agoREADME: link to the nspatch manual
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 19:15:33 +0000 (19:15 +0000)]
README: link to the nspatch manual

5 years agoBump version number nsdiff-1.55
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 19:14:25 +0000 (19:14 +0000)]
Bump version number

5 years agoIgnore more build output
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 19:14:02 +0000 (19:14 +0000)]
Ignore more build output

5 years agoBuild nspatch docs
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 19:10:06 +0000 (19:10 +0000)]
Build nspatch docs

5 years agonspatch: fix retries nsdiff-1.54
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:44:03 +0000 (18:44 +0000)]
nspatch: fix retries

Make the default 2 retries, as the docs say.
Do not unlink the delimiter file when retrying.
Ignore STDOUT when deciding whether to retry.

5 years agonspatch: avoid duplicate output in case of errors in -v mode
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:40:34 +0000 (18:40 +0000)]
nspatch: avoid duplicate output in case of errors in -v mode

5 years agonspatch: avoid duplicate output in -v mode
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:38:17 +0000 (18:38 +0000)]
nspatch: avoid duplicate output in -v mode

5 years agonspatch: fix -r and delimit output
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:35:44 +0000 (18:35 +0000)]
nspatch: fix -r and delimit output

5 years agofix version mangling in release script
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:17:03 +0000 (18:17 +0000)]
fix version mangling in release script

5 years agoBump version number and cross-ref to nspatch
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:15:17 +0000 (18:15 +0000)]
Bump version number and cross-ref to nspatch

5 years agonspatch: cross-ref to cron(8)
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:14:50 +0000 (18:14 +0000)]
nspatch: cross-ref to cron(8)

5 years agonspatch: a wrapper for nsdiff | nsupdate
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 18:08:29 +0000 (18:08 +0000)]
nspatch: a wrapper for nsdiff | nsupdate

5 years agonsdiff: neater -V implementation
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 16:17:18 +0000 (16:17 +0000)]
nsdiff: neater -V implementation

5 years agonsdiff: add -V to man page synopsis
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 14:40:00 +0000 (14:40 +0000)]
nsdiff: add -V to man page synopsis

5 years agonsdiff: suppress Getopt::Std --help and --version processing
Tony Finch [Sat, 24 Jan 2015 14:16:24 +0000 (14:16 +0000)]
nsdiff: suppress Getopt::Std --help and --version processing

5 years agoupload tags as well as the master branch
Tony Finch [Wed, 14 Jan 2015 13:37:33 +0000 (13:37 +0000)]
upload tags as well as the master branch

5 years agoBump version number nsdiff-1.53
Tony Finch [Mon, 12 Jan 2015 18:00:21 +0000 (18:00 +0000)]
Bump version number

5 years agoAllow AXFR from non-standard ports.
Tony Finch [Mon, 12 Jan 2015 17:56:00 +0000 (17:56 +0000)]
Allow AXFR from non-standard ports.

5 years agoCorrect the same typo in the manual
Tony Finch [Wed, 7 Jan 2015 09:51:50 +0000 (09:51 +0000)]
Correct the same typo in the manual

5 years agoCorrect spelling in README
Dan Langille [Wed, 7 Jan 2015 03:33:33 +0000 (22:33 -0500)]
Correct spelling in README

5 years agoBump version number nsdiff-1.52
Tony Finch [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 11:04:46 +0000 (12:04 +0100)]
Bump version number

5 years agoMore flexible support for secure delegations
Tony Finch [Thu, 16 Oct 2014 11:00:27 +0000 (12:00 +0100)]
More flexible support for secure delegations