git/git.git
16 years agoAdd a "check-files" command, which is useful for scripting
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 12 Apr 2005 07:23:14 +0000 (00:23 -0700)]
Add a "check-files" command, which is useful for scripting
patches.

In particular, it verifies that all the listed files are up-to-date
in the cache (or don't exist and are ready to be added).

16 years agoAdd "show-files" command to show the list of managed (or non-managed) files.
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 12 Apr 2005 01:55:38 +0000 (18:55 -0700)]
Add "show-files" command to show the list of managed (or non-managed) files.

You want things like this to check in a patch..

16 years agoAllow zero-sized files to be checked in.
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 12 Apr 2005 01:02:00 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Allow zero-sized files to be checked in.

The kernel may not want it, but others probably do.

Noted (again) by Junio Hamano.

16 years agoMake the rev-tree output more regular. This is the last
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 12 Apr 2005 00:40:58 +0000 (17:40 -0700)]
Make the rev-tree output more regular. This is the last
change. Promise.

It now always outputs all the revisions as <sha1>:<reachability>, where the
reachability is the bitmask of how that revision was reachable from the
commits in the argument list.

Trivially, if there is only one commit, the reachability will always be
(1 << 0) == 1 for all reachable revisions, and there won't be any edges
(so the "--edges" flag only makes sense with multiple commit keys).

16 years agoMake "rev-tree" capable of showing the difference in reachability between two
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 12 Apr 2005 00:23:58 +0000 (17:23 -0700)]
Make "rev-tree" capable of showing the difference in reachability between two
or more commit points.

This is important both to know what the difference between two commit
points is, but also to figure out where to try to merge from.

16 years agoMake "rev-tree" more efficient and more useful.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 23:42:13 +0000 (16:42 -0700)]
Make "rev-tree" more efficient and more useful.

Slight change of output format: it now lists all parents on the same line.

This allows it to work on initial commits too (which have no parents), and
also makes the output format a lot more intuitive.

16 years agoRename ".dircache" directory to ".git"
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 22:47:57 +0000 (15:47 -0700)]
Rename ".dircache" directory to ".git"

I started out calling the tool "dircache". That's clearly moronic.

16 years agoFix stale index.lock file removal using "atexit()".
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 22:39:26 +0000 (15:39 -0700)]
Fix stale index.lock file removal using "atexit()".

Problem noted by Randy Dunlap.

16 years agoAdd a "rev-tree" helper, which calculates the revision
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 20:55:10 +0000 (13:55 -0700)]
Add a "rev-tree" helper, which calculates the revision
tree graph.

It's quite fast when the commit-objects are cached, but since
it has to walk every single commit-object, it also allows you
to cache an old state and just add on top of that.

16 years agoFix "usage()" to do the missing line termination.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 20:53:49 +0000 (13:53 -0700)]
Fix "usage()" to do the missing line termination.

It got broken when I changed it to use stdarg.

16 years agoFix "update-cache" not fixing up the size field as appropriate.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 18:33:58 +0000 (11:33 -0700)]
Fix "update-cache" not fixing up the size field as appropriate.

The size field isn't in the tree information, so we need to
update it if the sha1 matches.

16 years agoMake the default directory permissions more lax.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 17:24:41 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Make the default directory permissions more lax.

After all, if you want to not allow others to read your
stuff, set your "umask" appropriately or make sure the
parent directories aren't readable/executable.

16 years agoAdd a COPYING notice, making it explicit that the license is GPLv2.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 17:18:16 +0000 (10:18 -0700)]
Add a COPYING notice, making it explicit that the license is GPLv2.

Let's bite the v3 bullet when it comes, although if people want to,
they can just state "or later at discretion of Linus" in their copyright
messages.

16 years agoMake "update-cache --refresh" do what it really should do: just
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 16:39:21 +0000 (09:39 -0700)]
Make "update-cache --refresh" do what it really should do: just
refresh the "stat" information.

We need this after having done a "read-tree", for example, when the
stat information does not match the checked-out tree, and we want to
start getting efficient cache matching against the parts of the tree
that are already up-to-date.

16 years agoFix up commit-tree/diff-tree user interface issues.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 15:37:17 +0000 (08:37 -0700)]
Fix up commit-tree/diff-tree user interface issues.

No, this doesn't make them easy to use, but makes diff-tree use
the "-r" flag for "recursive" (not "-R") and makes commit-tree
use AUTHOR_xxx environment flags (not COMMITTER_xxx) to match what
it actually does.

16 years agoOops. Fix bad initialization of the "seen" array, causing us to not
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 06:33:52 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
Oops. Fix bad initialization of the "seen" array, causing us to not
properly clear the reference count at init time. It happened to work
for me by pure luck.

Until it broke, and my unreferenced commit suddenly looked referenced
again. Fixed.

16 years agoOops, the actual 'printf' for missing objects was missing.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 06:22:59 +0000 (23:22 -0700)]
Oops, the actual 'printf' for missing objects was missing.

Which made fsck very quiet about objects it hadn't found. So add
it.

We'll need to make things like these optional, because it's
perfectly ok to have partial history if you don't want it,
and don't want to go backwards. But for development, it's best
to always complain about missing sha1 object files that are
referenced from somewhere else.

16 years agoAdd connectivity tracking to fsck.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 06:13:09 +0000 (23:13 -0700)]
Add connectivity tracking to fsck.

This shows that I've lost track of one commit already. Most likely
because I forgot to update the .dircache/HEAD file when doing a
commit, so that the next commit referenced not the top-of-tree, but
the one older commit.

Having dangling commits is fine (in fact, you should always have
at least _one_ dangling commit in the top-of-tree). But it's
good to know about them.

16 years agoFix off-by-one error in removal of cache entry.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 05:06:50 +0000 (22:06 -0700)]
Fix off-by-one error in removal of cache entry.

Also make the return value of "cache_name_pos()" be sane: positive
or zero if we found it (it's the index into the cache array), and
"-pos-1" to indicate where it should go if we didn't.

16 years agoFix diff-tree recursion.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 04:49:26 +0000 (21:49 -0700)]
Fix diff-tree recursion.

And, perhaps more importantly, fix the fact that if a filename changed from a
directory to a file (or vice versa), we must consider it a delete and an add,
not a "filechange".

16 years agoSimplify "diff-tree" output, and only keep track of one single name-base.
Linus Torvalds [Sun, 10 Apr 2005 22:08:02 +0000 (15:08 -0700)]
Simplify "diff-tree" output, and only keep track of one single name-base.

During original development I had different name-bases for source and
destination, so that I could make the output show how it got removed
from "tree a" and added to "tree b", but we don't want that. We only
do recursive diffs on anything where the bases are exactly the same,
so we might as well just work with a single base.

Also, make the output for "changed" be a single line, since people
hated the separate '<' / '>' format. They were right. It sucked.

16 years agoAdd "-R" flag to "diff-tree", so that it will recursively traverse a tree of trees
Linus Torvalds [Sun, 10 Apr 2005 21:03:58 +0000 (14:03 -0700)]
Add "-R" flag to "diff-tree", so that it will recursively traverse a tree of trees
as it diffs them.

This makes diff-tree usable again in the new world order.

16 years agoMake "update-cache" a bit friendlier to use (and harder to mis-use).
Linus Torvalds [Sun, 10 Apr 2005 18:32:54 +0000 (11:32 -0700)]
Make "update-cache" a bit friendlier to use (and harder to mis-use).

It now requires the "--add" flag before you add any new files, and
a "--remove" file if you want to mark files for removal. And giving
it the "--refresh" flag makes it just update all the files that it
already knows about.

16 years agoThis implements the new "recursive tree" write-tree.
Linus Torvalds [Sun, 10 Apr 2005 00:09:34 +0000 (17:09 -0700)]
This implements the new "recursive tree" write-tree.

It's got some debugging printouts etc still in it, but testing on the
kernel seems to show that it does indeed fix the issue with huge tree
files for each commit.

16 years agoMake fsck-cache warn about old-style tree objects that have full
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 22:47:03 +0000 (15:47 -0700)]
Make fsck-cache warn about old-style tree objects that have full
pathnames in them. We're migrating away from that.

This will cause tons of warnings for the current "sparse" archive,
but hell, better now than later.

16 years agoTeach "fsck" and "read-tree" about recursive tree-nodes.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 22:36:41 +0000 (15:36 -0700)]
Teach "fsck" and "read-tree" about recursive tree-nodes.

This is totally untested, since we can't actually _write_ things that
way yet, but I'll get to that next, I hope. That should fix the
huge wasted space for kernel-sized tree objects.

16 years agoMake "fsck-cache" print out all the root commits it finds.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 20:02:30 +0000 (13:02 -0700)]
Make "fsck-cache" print out all the root commits it finds.

Once I do the reference tracking, I'll also make it print out all the
HEAD commits it finds, which is even more interesting.

16 years agoAdd "diff-tree" program to show which files have changed between two trees.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 20:00:54 +0000 (13:00 -0700)]
Add "diff-tree" program to show which files have changed between two trees.

Very useful for creating diffs efficiently, and in general to see what has
changed in the namespace.

16 years agoExport "cache_name_compare()" helper function.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 19:59:11 +0000 (12:59 -0700)]
Export "cache_name_compare()" helper function.

The "diff-tree" program needs it.

16 years agoMake "read-tree" read the tree into the current directory cache.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 19:11:25 +0000 (12:11 -0700)]
Make "read-tree" read the tree into the current directory cache.

It will no longer update the actual working directory, just the
cache. To update the working directory, you need to use "checkout-cache".

16 years agoMake "write_cache()" and friends available as generic routines.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 19:09:27 +0000 (12:09 -0700)]
Make "write_cache()" and friends available as generic routines.

This is needed for the change to make "read-tree" just read into the
cache (and then you do a "checkout-cache" to update your current dir
contents).

16 years agoFix "checkout-cache.c" mis-use of read_sha1_file() interface.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 18:24:41 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
Fix "checkout-cache.c" mis-use of read_sha1_file() interface.

It's supposed to test the returned file type, not think that read_sha1_file()
tests it. Confusion from "cat-file" command line usage.

16 years agoFix up "checkout-cache" a bit
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 16:59:44 +0000 (09:59 -0700)]
Fix up "checkout-cache" a bit

Make the warnings have newlines, and don't stop "checkout-cache -a"
just because a file already exists.

16 years agoAdd a "checkout-cache" command which does what the name suggests.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 16:53:05 +0000 (09:53 -0700)]
Add a "checkout-cache" command which does what the name suggests.

I'll also eventually change "read-tree" to only update the cache
information, instead of doing a checkout of the tree. Much nicer.

16 years agoMake the cache stat information comparator public.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 16:48:20 +0000 (09:48 -0700)]
Make the cache stat information comparator public.

Like the cache filename finder, it's a generically useful function,
rather than something specific to the current "show-diff" thing.

16 years agoMake "cache_name_pos()" available to others.
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 16:26:55 +0000 (09:26 -0700)]
Make "cache_name_pos()" available to others.

It finds the cache entry position for a given name, and is
generally useful. Sure, everybody can just scan the active
cache array, but since it's sorted, you actually want to
search it with a binary search, so let's not duplicate that
logic all over the place.

16 years agoFix missing return values and some error tests for empty index files
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 07:25:22 +0000 (00:25 -0700)]
Fix missing return values and some error tests for empty index files

Patches from Dave Jones and Ingo Molnar, but since I don't have any
infrastructure in place to use the old patch applicator scripts I
am trying to build up, I ended up fixing the thing by hand instead.

Credit where credit is due, though. Nice to see that people are
taking a look at the project even in this early stage.

16 years agoMake fsck-cache start parsing the object types, and checking their
Linus Torvalds [Sat, 9 Apr 2005 00:11:14 +0000 (17:11 -0700)]
Make fsck-cache start parsing the object types, and checking their
internal format.

This doesn't yet check the reachability information, but we're getting
there.. Slowly.

16 years agoAdd "-lz" to link line to get in zlib.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 22:31:19 +0000 (15:31 -0700)]
Add "-lz" to link line to get in zlib.

Not all Linux distributions seem to need it (notably not YDL on ppc64), but
enough ones obviously do.

16 years agoAdd new fsck-cache to Makefile.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 22:04:51 +0000 (15:04 -0700)]
Add new fsck-cache to Makefile.

This is what happens when there are no nice tools to tell you to do things
properly.

16 years agoAdd first cut at "fsck-cache" that validates the SHA1 object store.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 22:02:42 +0000 (15:02 -0700)]
Add first cut at "fsck-cache" that validates the SHA1 object store.

It doesn't complain about mine. But it also doesn't yet check for
inter-object reachability etc.

16 years agoAdd "check_sha1_signature()" helper function
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 22:01:15 +0000 (15:01 -0700)]
Add "check_sha1_signature()" helper function

And fix up header declarations.

16 years agoFactor out "read_sha1_file" into mapping/inflating/unmapping.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 21:42:29 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Factor out "read_sha1_file" into mapping/inflating/unmapping.

This allows us to also actually check the sha1 hash using these
routines. Needed for the "fsck" thing.

16 years agoUse "-Wall -O2" for the compiler to get more warnings.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 16:59:28 +0000 (09:59 -0700)]
Use "-Wall -O2" for the compiler to get more warnings.

And fix up the warnings that it pointed out. Let's keep the tree
clean from early on.

Not that the code is very beautiful anyway ;)

16 years agoMake "cat-file" output the file contents to stdout.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 16:16:38 +0000 (09:16 -0700)]
Make "cat-file" output the file contents to stdout.

New syntax: "cat-file -t <sha1>" shows the tag, while "cat-file <tag> <sha1>"
outputs the file contents after checking that the supplied tag matches.

16 years agoMake read-tree actually unpack the whole tree.
Linus Torvalds [Fri, 8 Apr 2005 04:03:28 +0000 (21:03 -0700)]
Make read-tree actually unpack the whole tree.

I needed this to make a "sparse" archive conversion from my old
BitKeeper tree data. The scripts to do the conversion are just
incredibly ugly, but they seem to validate the notion that you
can actually use this silly 'git' thing to save your history in.

16 years agoAdd copyright notices.
Linus Torvalds [Thu, 7 Apr 2005 22:16:10 +0000 (15:16 -0700)]
Add copyright notices.

The tool interface sucks (especially "committing" information, which is just
me doing everything by hand from the command line), but I think this is in
theory actually a viable way of describing the world. So copyright it.

16 years agoInitial revision of "git", the information manager from hell
Linus Torvalds [Thu, 7 Apr 2005 22:13:13 +0000 (15:13 -0700)]
Initial revision of "git", the information manager from hell