mingw: fix isatty() after dup2()
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Tue, 30 Oct 2018 18:44:40 +0000 (11:44 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 31 Oct 2018 03:48:59 +0000 (12:48 +0900)
Since a9b8a09c3c30 (mingw: replace isatty() hack, 2016-12-22), we handle
isatty() by special-casing the stdin/stdout/stderr file descriptors,
caching the return value. However, we missed the case where dup2()
overrides the respective file descriptor.

That poses a problem e.g. where the `show` builtin asks for a pager very
early, the `setup_pager()` function sets the pager depending on the
return value of `isatty()` and then redirects stdout. Subsequently,
`cmd_log_init_finish()` calls `setup_pager()` *again*. What should
happen now is that `isatty()` reports that stdout is *not* a TTY and
consequently stdout should be left alone.

Let's override dup2() to handle this appropriately.

This fixes https://github.com/git-for-windows/git/issues/1077

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
compat/mingw.h
compat/winansi.c

index f31dcff..b04556c 100644 (file)
@@ -390,6 +390,9 @@ int mingw_raise(int sig);
 int winansi_isatty(int fd);
 #define isatty winansi_isatty
 
+int winansi_dup2(int oldfd, int newfd);
+#define dup2 winansi_dup2
+
 void winansi_init(void);
 HANDLE winansi_get_osfhandle(int fd);
 
index a11a0f1..f4f0823 100644 (file)
@@ -474,6 +474,18 @@ static void die_lasterr(const char *fmt, ...)
        va_end(params);
 }
 
+#undef dup2
+int winansi_dup2(int oldfd, int newfd)
+{
+       int ret = dup2(oldfd, newfd);
+
+       if (!ret && newfd >= 0 && newfd <= 2)
+               fd_is_interactive[newfd] = oldfd < 0 || oldfd > 2 ?
+                       0 : fd_is_interactive[oldfd];
+
+       return ret;
+}
+
 static HANDLE duplicate_handle(HANDLE hnd)
 {
        HANDLE hresult, hproc = GetCurrentProcess();