probe_utf8_pathname_composition: use internal strbuf
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 5 Oct 2015 03:45:26 +0000 (23:45 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 5 Oct 2015 18:06:49 +0000 (11:06 -0700)
When we are initializing a .git directory, we may call
probe_utf8_pathname_composition to detect utf8 mangling. We
pass in a path buffer for it to use, and it blindly
strcpy()s into it, not knowing whether the buffer is large
enough to hold the result or not.

In practice this isn't a big deal, because the buffer we
pass in already contains "$GIT_DIR/config", and we append
only a few extra bytes to it. But we can easily do the right
thing just by calling git_path_buf ourselves. Technically
this results in a different pathname (before we appended our
utf8 characters to the "config" path, and now they get their
own files in $GIT_DIR), but that should not matter for our
purposes.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>

No differences found