revert: allow reverting a root commit
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 12 May 2011 11:09:55 +0000 (07:09 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 16 May 2011 20:01:45 +0000 (13:01 -0700)
Although it is probably an uncommon operation, there is no
reason to disallow it, as it works just fine. It is the
reverse of a cherry-pick of a root commit, which is already
allowed.

We do have to tweak one check on whether we have a merge
commit, which assumed we had at least one parent.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/revert.c

index f697e66..1f27c63 100644 (file)
@@ -408,8 +408,6 @@ static int do_pick_commit(void)
        discard_cache();
 
        if (!commit->parents) {
-               if (action == REVERT)
-                       die (_("Cannot revert a root commit"));
                parent = NULL;
        }
        else if (commit->parents->next) {
@@ -467,7 +465,7 @@ static int do_pick_commit(void)
                strbuf_addstr(&msgbuf, "\"\n\nThis reverts commit ");
                strbuf_addstr(&msgbuf, sha1_to_hex(commit->object.sha1));
 
-               if (commit->parents->next) {
+               if (commit->parents && commit->parents->next) {
                        strbuf_addstr(&msgbuf, ", reversing\nchanges made to ");
                        strbuf_addstr(&msgbuf, sha1_to_hex(parent->object.sha1));
                }