t1401: test reflog creation for git-symbolic-ref
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 20 Dec 2015 07:27:23 +0000 (02:27 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Dec 2015 20:06:31 +0000 (12:06 -0800)
The current code writes a reflog entry whenever we update a
symbolic ref, but we never test that this is so. Let's add a
test to make sure upcoming refactoring doesn't cause a
regression.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t1401-symbolic-ref.sh

index e9219a9..64968b7 100755 (executable)
@@ -69,4 +69,20 @@ test_expect_success 'symbolic-ref reports failure in exit code' '
        test_must_fail git symbolic-ref HEAD refs/heads/whatever
 '
 
        test_must_fail git symbolic-ref HEAD refs/heads/whatever
 '
 
+test_expect_success 'symbolic-ref writes reflog entry' '
+       git checkout -b log1 &&
+       test_commit one &&
+       git checkout -b log2  &&
+       test_commit two &&
+       git checkout --orphan orphan &&
+       git symbolic-ref -m create HEAD refs/heads/log1 &&
+       git symbolic-ref -m update HEAD refs/heads/log2 &&
+       cat >expect <<-\EOF &&
+       update
+       create
+       EOF
+       git log --format=%gs -g >actual &&
+       test_cmp expect actual
+'
+
 test_done
 test_done