cherry-pick: fix docs describing handling of empty commits
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 31 Mar 2015 01:08:54 +0000 (21:08 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 31 Mar 2015 04:49:51 +0000 (21:49 -0700)
Commit b27cfb0 (git-cherry-pick: Add keep-redundant-commits
option, 2012-04-20), added the --keep-redundant-commits
option, and switched the default behavior (without that
option) to silently ignore empty commits. Later, the second
half of that commit was reverted in ac2b0e8 (cherry-pick:
regression fix for empty commits, 2012-05-29), but the
documentation added for --keep-redundant-commits was never
updated to match. Let's do so now.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-cherry-pick.txt

index 1c03c79..1147c71 100644 (file)
@@ -131,7 +131,8 @@ effect to your index in a row.
 --keep-redundant-commits::
        If a commit being cherry picked duplicates a commit already in the
        current history, it will become empty.  By default these
-       redundant commits are ignored.  This option overrides that behavior and
+       redundant commits cause `cherry-pick` to stop so the user can
+       examine the commit. This option overrides that behavior and
        creates an empty commit object.  Implies `--allow-empty`.
 
 --strategy=<strategy>::