completion: __git_config_get_set_variables() handle values with spaces
authorStephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Tue, 30 Jun 2009 05:08:38 +0000 (22:08 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 6 Jul 2009 16:45:00 +0000 (09:45 -0700)
Commit 0065236 (bash completion: complete variable names for "git
config" with options 2009-05-08) implemented its config variable search
wrong. When a config contains a value with a space and a period (.) in
it, completion erroneously thinks that line in the configuration is
multiple config variables.

For example

 $ cat .git/config
   format.cc = Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>

 $ git config --unset <TAB>
   format.cc
   <gitster@pobox.com>

Instead of using a for loop splitting across spaces, pipe each line to a
while read loop and beef up the case statement to match only
'config.variable=value'.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
contrib/completion/git-completion.bash

index 1f44ec2..9c48864 100755 (executable)
@@ -1357,11 +1357,12 @@ __git_config_get_set_variables ()
                c=$((--c))
        done
 
                c=$((--c))
        done
 
-       for i in $(git --git-dir="$(__gitdir)" config $config_file --list \
-                       2>/dev/null); do
-               case "$i" in
-               *.*)
-                       echo "${i/=*/}"
+       git --git-dir="$(__gitdir)" config $config_file --list 2>/dev/null |
+       while read line
+       do
+               case "$line" in
+               *.*=*)
+                       echo "${line/=*/}"
                        ;;
                esac
        done
                        ;;
                esac
        done