git-log: detect dup and fdopen failure
authorJim Meyering <jim@meyering.net>
Wed, 27 Jun 2007 14:28:53 +0000 (16:28 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 28 Jun 2007 04:02:44 +0000 (21:02 -0700)
This defines xdup() and xfdopen() in git-compat-util.h to give
us error-catching variants of them without cluttering the code
too much.

Signed-off-by: Jim Meyering <jim@meyering.net>
Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-log.c
git-compat-util.h

index 073a2a1..a4186ea 100644 (file)
@@ -589,7 +589,7 @@ int cmd_format_patch(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                get_patch_ids(&rev, &ids, prefix);
 
        if (!use_stdout)
-               realstdout = fdopen(dup(1), "w");
+               realstdout = xfdopen(xdup(1), "w");
 
        prepare_revision_walk(&rev);
        while ((commit = get_revision(&rev)) != NULL) {
index b2ab3f8..362e040 100644 (file)
@@ -287,6 +287,22 @@ static inline ssize_t xwrite(int fd, const void *buf, size_t len)
        }
 }
 
+static inline int xdup(int fd)
+{
+       int ret = dup(fd);
+       if (ret < 0)
+               die("dup failed: %s", strerror(errno));
+       return ret;
+}
+
+static inline FILE *xfdopen(int fd, const char *mode)
+{
+       FILE *stream = fdopen(fd, mode);
+       if (stream == NULL)
+               die("Out of memory? fdopen failed: %s", strerror(errno));
+       return stream;
+}
+
 static inline size_t xsize_t(off_t len)
 {
        return (size_t)len;