demonstrate breakage of detached checkout with symbolic link HEAD
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 17 Oct 2008 22:56:11 +0000 (15:56 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 19 Oct 2008 19:35:04 +0000 (12:35 -0700)
When core.prefersymlinkrefs is in use, detaching the HEAD by
checkout incorrectly clobbers the tip of the current branch.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t7201-co.sh

index ee2cab6..3f70ada 100755 (executable)
@@ -339,6 +339,18 @@ test_expect_success 'checkout w/--track from non-branch HEAD fails' '
     test "z$(git rev-parse master^0)" = "z$(git rev-parse HEAD)"
 '
 
+test_expect_failure 'detach a symbolic link HEAD' '
+    git checkout master &&
+    git config --bool core.prefersymlinkrefs yes &&
+    git checkout side &&
+    git checkout master &&
+    it=$(git symbolic-ref HEAD) &&
+    test "z$it" = zrefs/heads/master &&
+    here=$(git rev-parse --verify refs/heads/master) &&
+    git checkout side^ &&
+    test "z$(git rev-parse --verify refs/heads/master)" = "z$here"
+'
+
 test_expect_success 'checkout an unmerged path should fail' '
        rm -f .git/index &&
        O=$(echo original | git hash-object -w --stdin) &&