rerere: add note about files with existing conflict markers
authorThomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Tue, 28 Aug 2018 21:27:44 +0000 (22:27 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 29 Aug 2018 16:03:29 +0000 (09:03 -0700)
When a file contains lines that look like conflict markers, 'git
rerere' may fail not be able to record a conflict resolution.
Emphasize that in the man page, and mention a possible workaround for
the issue.

Suggested-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-rerere.txt

index 031f31f..df310d2 100644 (file)
@@ -211,6 +211,12 @@ would conflict the same way as the test merge you resolved earlier.
 'git rerere' will be run by 'git rebase' to help you resolve this
 conflict.
 
+[NOTE] 'git rerere' relies on the conflict markers in the file to
+detect the conflict.  If the file already contains lines that look the
+same as lines with conflict markers, 'git rerere' may fail to record a
+conflict resolution.  To work around this, the `conflict-marker-size`
+setting in linkgit:gitattributes[5] can be used.
+
 GIT
 ---
 Part of the linkgit:git[1] suite