am: handle "-h" argument earlier
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 30 May 2017 05:11:23 +0000 (01:11 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 30 May 2017 05:39:47 +0000 (14:39 +0900)
If the user provides "-h" on the command line, then our
parse_options() invocation will show a usage message and
quit. But if "-h" is the only argument, the git wrapper
behaves specially: it ignores our RUN_SETUP flag and calls
cmd_am() without having done repository setup at all.  This
is due to 99caeed05 (Let 'git <command> -h' show usage
without a git dir, 2009-11-09).

Before cmd_am() calls parse_options(), though, it runs a few
other setup functions. One of these is am_state_init(),
which uses git_pathdup() to set up the default rebase-apply
path. But calling git_pathdup() when we haven't done
repository setup will fall back to using ".git". That's
mostly harmless (since we won't use the value anyway), but
is forbidden since b1ef400eec ("setup_git_env: avoid blind
fall-back to ".git"", 2016-10-20), and we now BUG().

We can't easily move that setup to after the parse_options()
call; the point is to set up defaults that are overwritten
by the option parsing. Instead, we'll detect the "-h" case
early and show the usage then. This matches the behavior of
other builtins which have a similar setup-ordering issue
(e.g., git-branch).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/am.c

index a95dd8b..c74df14 100644 (file)
@@ -2319,6 +2319,9 @@ int cmd_am(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                OPT_END()
        };
 
+       if (argc == 2 && !strcmp(argv[1], "-h"))
+               usage_with_options(usage, options);
+
        git_config(git_am_config, NULL);
 
        am_state_init(&state);