add tests for merging with submodules
authorClemens Buchacher <drizzd@aon.at>
Sun, 5 Apr 2009 00:46:58 +0000 (02:46 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 5 Apr 2009 07:26:30 +0000 (00:26 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Clemens Buchacher <drizzd@aon.at>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t7405-submodule-merge.sh [new file with mode: 0755]

diff --git a/t/t7405-submodule-merge.sh b/t/t7405-submodule-merge.sh
new file mode 100755 (executable)
index 0000000..9778ad4
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,74 @@
+#!/bin/sh
+
+test_description='merging with submodules'
+
+. ./test-lib.sh
+
+#
+# history
+#
+#        a --- c
+#      /   \ /
+# root      X
+#      \   / \
+#        b --- d
+#
+
+test_expect_success setup '
+
+       mkdir sub &&
+       (cd sub &&
+        git init &&
+        echo original > file &&
+        git add file &&
+        test_tick &&
+        git commit -m sub-root) &&
+       git add sub &&
+       test_tick &&
+       git commit -m root &&
+
+       git checkout -b a master &&
+       (cd sub &&
+        echo A > file &&
+        git add file &&
+        test_tick &&
+        git commit -m sub-a) &&
+       git add sub &&
+       test_tick &&
+       git commit -m a &&
+
+       git checkout -b b master &&
+       (cd sub &&
+        echo B > file &&
+        git add file &&
+        test_tick &&
+        git commit -m sub-b) &&
+       git add sub &&
+       test_tick &&
+       git commit -m b
+
+       git checkout -b c a &&
+       git merge -s ours b &&
+
+       git checkout -b d b &&
+       git merge -s ours a
+'
+
+test_expect_failure 'merging with modify/modify conflict' '
+
+       git checkout -b test1 a &&
+       test_must_fail git merge b &&
+       test -f .git/MERGE_MSG &&
+       git diff
+
+'
+
+test_expect_failure 'merging with a modify/modify conflict between merge bases' '
+
+       git reset --hard HEAD &&
+       git checkout -b test2 c &&
+       git merge d
+
+'
+
+test_done