t3701: Editing a split hunk in an "add -p" session
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 19:41:16 +0000 (12:41 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 22:26:41 +0000 (15:26 -0700)
Arnaud Lacombe reported that with the recent change to reject overlapping
hunks fed to "git apply", the edit mode of an "add -p" session that lazily
feeds overlapping hunks without coalescing adjacent ones claim that the
patch does not apply.  Expose the problem to be fixed.

Cf. http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.version-control.git/170685/focus=171000

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t3701-add-interactive.sh

index d6327e7..72559e1 100755 (executable)
@@ -295,4 +295,40 @@ test_expect_success PERL 'deleting an empty file' '
        test_cmp expected diff
 '
 
+test_expect_success PERL 'split hunk setup' '
+       git reset --hard &&
+       for i in 10 20 30 40 50 60
+       do
+               echo $i
+       done >test &&
+       git add test &&
+       test_tick &&
+       git commit -m test &&
+
+       for i in 10 15 20 21 22 23 24 30 40 50 60
+       do
+               echo $i
+       done >test
+'
+
+test_expect_failure PERL 'split hunk "add -p (edit)"' '
+       # Split, say Edit and do nothing.  Then:
+       #
+       # 1. Broken version results in a patch that does not apply and
+       # only takes [y/n] (edit again) so the first q is discarded
+       # and then n attempts to discard the edit. Repeat q enough
+       # times to get out.
+       #
+       # 2. Correct version applies the (not)edited version, and asks
+       #    about the next hunk, against wich we say q and program
+       #    exits.
+       for a in s e     q n q q
+       do
+               echo $a
+       done |
+       EDITOR=: git add -p &&
+       git diff >actual &&
+       ! grep "^+15" actual
+'
+
 test_done