t/perf: depend on perl JSON only when using --codespeed
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 23 Apr 2019 04:34:20 +0000 (00:34 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 24 Apr 2019 01:21:06 +0000 (10:21 +0900)
Commit 05eb1c37ed (perf/aggregate: implement codespeed JSON output,
2018-01-05) added a dependency on the perl JSON module to show output
from aggregate.perl, but we only need it when the user asks for
--codespeed output. While the module is pretty common, it's not part of
the base system, and this dependency can get in the way of producing the
default human-readable output.

Let's bump the "use" down to a "require" in the code path that needs it,
which will be interpreted at run-time instead of compile-time. People
not using "--codespeed" won't even load the module, and anybody using it
should see the same results (including the same perl error if they don't
have it).

Note that this skips the importing step, so we'll have to fully qualify
our function call. We could accomplish the same thing in other ways.
E.g., calling JSON->import() ourselves, or wrapping "use JSON" in an
eval. Since there's only one such call, this seems like the
least-magical way of doing it.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/perf/aggregate.perl

index 494907a..76dd48f 100755 (executable)
@@ -3,7 +3,6 @@
 use lib '../../perl/build/lib';
 use strict;
 use warnings;
-use JSON;
 use Getopt::Long;
 use Git;
 
@@ -342,7 +341,8 @@ sub print_codespeed_results {
                }
        }
 
-       print to_json(\@data, {utf8 => 1, pretty => 1, canonical => 1}), "\n";
+       require JSON;
+       print JSON::to_json(\@data, {utf8 => 1, pretty => 1, canonical => 1}), "\n";
 }
 
 binmode STDOUT, ":utf8" or die "PANIC on binmode: $!";