git-gui (Windows): use git-gui.exe in `Create Desktop Shortcut`
authorPat Thoyts <patthoyts@users.sourceforge.net>
Sun, 2 Oct 2016 21:19:47 +0000 (22:19 +0100)
committerPat Thoyts <patthoyts@users.sourceforge.net>
Mon, 3 Oct 2016 10:03:47 +0000 (11:03 +0100)
When calling `Repository>Create Desktop Shortcut`, Git GUI assumes
that it is okay to call `wish.exe` directly on Windows. However, in
Git for Windows 2.x' context, that leaves several crucial environment
variables uninitialized, resulting in a shortcut that does not work.

To fix those environment variable woes, Git for Windows comes with a
convenient `git-gui.exe`, so let's just use it when it is available.

This fixes https://github.com/git-for-windows/git/issues/448

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Pat Thoyts <patthoyts@users.sourceforge.net>
lib/shortcut.tcl

index 78878ef..39d23f9 100644 (file)
@@ -11,11 +11,14 @@ proc do_windows_shortcut {} {
                if {[file extension $fn] ne {.lnk}} {
                        set fn ${fn}.lnk
                }
+               # Use git-gui.exe if available (ie: git-for-windows)
+               set cmdLine [auto_execok git-gui.exe]
+               if {$cmdLine eq {}} {
+                       set cmdLine [list [info nameofexecutable] \
+                                                        [file normalize $::argv0]]
+               }
                if {[catch {
-                               win32_create_lnk $fn [list \
-                                       [info nameofexecutable] \
-                                       [file normalize $::argv0] \
-                                       ] \
+                               win32_create_lnk $fn $cmdLine \
                                        [file normalize $_gitworktree]
                        } err]} {
                        error_popup [strcat [mc "Cannot write shortcut:"] "\n\n$err"]