Documentation/git-filter-branch: add a new msg-filter example
authorMiklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Mon, 25 Feb 2008 14:43:53 +0000 (15:43 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 25 Feb 2008 21:05:25 +0000 (13:05 -0800)
There were no example on how to edit commit messages, so add an msg-filter
example.

Signed-off-by: Miklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-filter-branch.txt

index e22dfa5..1948f6f 100644 (file)
@@ -240,6 +240,15 @@ committed a merge between P1 and P2, it will be propagated properly
 and all children of the merge will become merge commits with P1,P2
 as their parents instead of the merge commit.
 
+You can rewrite the commit log messages using `--message-filter`.  For
+example, `git-svn-id` strings in a repository created by `git-svn` can
+be removed this way:
+
+-------------------------------------------------------
+git filter-branch --message-filter '
+       sed -e "/^git-svn-id:/d"
+'
+-------------------------------------------------------
 
 To restrict rewriting to only part of the history, specify a revision
 range in addition to the new branch name.  The new branch name will