remove dead code from the csum-file interface
authorNicolas Pitre <nico@cam.org>
Mon, 5 Nov 2007 03:54:50 +0000 (22:54 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 5 Nov 2007 20:55:33 +0000 (12:55 -0800)
The provided name argument is always constant and valid in every
caller's context, so no need to have an array of PATH_MAX chars to copy
it into when a simple pointer will do.  Unfortunately that means getting
rid of wascally wabbits too.

The 'error' field is also unused.

Signed-off-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@cam.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
csum-file.c
csum-file.h

index b445e6a..9728a99 100644 (file)
@@ -88,22 +88,12 @@ struct sha1file *sha1fd(int fd, const char *name)
 
 struct sha1file *sha1fd_throughput(int fd, const char *name, struct progress *tp)
 {
-       struct sha1file *f;
-       unsigned len;
-
-       f = xmalloc(sizeof(*f));
-
-       len = strlen(name);
-       if (len >= PATH_MAX)
-               die("you wascally wabbit, you");
-       f->namelen = len;
-       memcpy(f->name, name, len+1);
-
+       struct sha1file *f = xmalloc(sizeof(*f));
        f->fd = fd;
-       f->error = 0;
        f->offset = 0;
        f->total = 0;
        f->tp = tp;
+       f->name = name;
        f->do_crc = 0;
        SHA1_Init(&f->ctx);
        return f;
index a38cc3a..1af7656 100644 (file)
@@ -5,12 +5,12 @@ struct progress;
 
 /* A SHA1-protected file */
 struct sha1file {
-       int fd, error;
-       unsigned int offset, namelen;
+       int fd;
+       unsigned int offset;
        SHA_CTX ctx;
        off_t total;
        struct progress *tp;
-       char name[PATH_MAX];
+       const char *name;
        int do_crc;
        uint32_t crc32;
        unsigned char buffer[8192];