t3503: test cherry picking and reverting root commits
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 12 May 2011 11:10:07 +0000 (07:10 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 16 May 2011 20:05:03 +0000 (13:05 -0700)
We already tested cherry-picking a root commit, but only
with the internal merge-recursive strategy. Let's also test
the recently-allowed reverting of a root commit, as well as
testing with external strategies (which until recently
triggered a segfault).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t3503-cherry-pick-root.sh

index b0faa29..9aefe3a 100755 (executable)
@@ -1,6 +1,6 @@
 #!/bin/sh
 
-test_description='test cherry-picking a root commit'
+test_description='test cherry-picking (and reverting) a root commit'
 
 . ./test-lib.sh
 
@@ -23,7 +23,30 @@ test_expect_success setup '
 test_expect_success 'cherry-pick a root commit' '
 
        git cherry-pick master &&
-       test first = $(cat file1)
+       echo first >expect &&
+       test_cmp expect file1
+
+'
+
+test_expect_success 'revert a root commit' '
+
+       git revert master &&
+       test_path_is_missing file1
+
+'
+
+test_expect_success 'cherry-pick a root commit with an external strategy' '
+
+       git cherry-pick --strategy=resolve master &&
+       echo first >expect &&
+       test_cmp expect file1
+
+'
+
+test_expect_success 'revert a root commit with an external strategy' '
+
+       git revert --strategy=resolve master &&
+       test_path_is_missing file1
 
 '