user-manual: use 'remote add' to setup push URLs
authorW. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
Mon, 18 Feb 2013 00:15:53 +0000 (19:15 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 18 Feb 2013 08:48:30 +0000 (00:48 -0800)
There is no need to use here documents to setup this configuration.
It is easier, less confusing, and more robust to use `git remote add`
directly.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/user-manual.txt

index 4cb8325..74dd82a 100644 (file)
@@ -1992,16 +1992,21 @@ will not be updated by the push.  This may lead to unexpected results if
 the branch you push to is the currently checked-out branch!
 
 As with `git fetch`, you may also set up configuration options to
-save typing; so, for example, after
+save typing; so, for example:
+
+-------------------------------------------------
+$ git remote add public-repo ssh://yourserver.com/~you/proj.git
+-------------------------------------------------
+
+adds the following to `.git/config`:
 
 -------------------------------------------------
-$ cat >>.git/config <<EOF
 [remote "public-repo"]
-       url = ssh://yourserver.com/~you/proj.git
-EOF
+       url = yourserver.com:proj.git
+       fetch = +refs/heads/*:refs/remotes/example/*
 -------------------------------------------------
 
-you should be able to perform the above push with just
+which lets you do the same push with just
 
 -------------------------------------------------
 $ git push public-repo master