t0050: perl portability fix
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Wed, 12 Mar 2008 21:30:10 +0000 (17:30 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 13 Mar 2008 07:57:40 +0000 (00:57 -0700)
Older versions of perl (such as 5.005) don't understand -CO, nor
do they understand the "U" pack specifier. Instead of using perl,
let's just printf the binary bytes we are interested in.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tested-by: Johannes Sixt <johannes.sixt@telecom.at>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t0050-filesystem.sh

index cd088b3..3fbad77 100755 (executable)
@@ -4,8 +4,8 @@ test_description='Various filesystem issues'
 
 . ./test-lib.sh
 
-auml=`perl -CO -e 'print pack("U",0x00E4)'`
-aumlcdiar=`perl -CO -e 'print pack("U",0x0061).pack("U",0x0308)'`
+auml=`printf '\xc3\xa4'`
+aumlcdiar=`printf '\x61\xcc\x88'`
 
 test_expect_success 'see if we expect ' '