git-archive: update documentation
authorFranck Bui-Huu <vagabon.xyz@gmail.com>
Mon, 25 Sep 2006 10:31:52 +0000 (12:31 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Tue, 26 Sep 2006 04:17:43 +0000 (21:17 -0700)
This patch documents zip backend options.

It also adds git-archive command into the main git manual
page.

Signed-off-by: Franck Bui-Huu <vagabon.xyz@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Documentation/git-archive.txt
Documentation/git.txt

index 913528d..031fcd5 100644 (file)
@@ -40,6 +40,7 @@ OPTIONS
 
 <extra>::
        This can be any options that the archiver backend understand.
+       See next section.
 
 --remote=<repo>::
        Instead of making a tar archive from local repository,
@@ -52,6 +53,18 @@ path::
        If one or more paths are specified, include only these in the
        archive, otherwise include all files and subdirectories.
 
+BACKEND EXTRA OPTIONS
+---------------------
+
+zip
+~~~
+-0::
+       Store the files instead of deflating them.
+-9::
+       Highest and slowest compression level.  You can specify any
+       number from 1 to 9 to adjust compression speed and ratio.
+
+
 CONFIGURATION
 -------------
 By default, file and directories modes are set to 0666 or 0777 in tar
index 1bf5ef5..2135b65 100644 (file)
@@ -266,6 +266,9 @@ gitlink:git-am[1]::
 gitlink:git-applymbox[1]::
        Apply patches from a mailbox, original version by Linus.
 
+gitlink:git-archive[1]::
+       Creates an archive of files from a named tree.
+
 gitlink:git-bisect[1]::
        Find the change that introduced a bug by binary search.