post-receive-hook: Remove the From field from the generated email header so that...
authorAndy Parkins <andyparkins@gmail.com>
Fri, 28 Sep 2007 14:24:26 +0000 (15:24 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 1 Oct 2007 08:59:22 +0000 (01:59 -0700)
Using the name of the committer of the revision at the tip of the
updated ref is not sensible.  That information is available in the email
itself should it be wanted, and by supplying a "From", we were
effectively hiding the person who performed the push - which is useful
information in itself.

Signed-off-by: Andy Parkins <andyparkins@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
contrib/hooks/post-receive-email

index 1f88099..cbbd02f 100644 (file)
@@ -177,7 +177,6 @@ generate_email_header()
        # --- Email (all stdout will be the email)
        # Generate header
        cat <<-EOF
-       From: $committer
        To: $recipients
        Subject: ${EMAILPREFIX}$projectdesc $refname_type, $short_refname, ${change_type}d. $describe
        X-Git-Refname: $refname