Document the new core.bare configuration option.
authorShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Wed, 21 Feb 2007 22:59:08 +0000 (17:59 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Thu, 22 Feb 2007 00:39:09 +0000 (16:39 -0800)
Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Documentation/config.txt

index 3865535..4a22a00 100644 (file)
@@ -142,6 +142,18 @@ core.preferSymlinkRefs::
        This is sometimes needed to work with old scripts that
        expect HEAD to be a symbolic link.
 
+core.bare::
+       If true this repository is assumed to be 'bare' and has no
+       working directory associated with it.  If this is the case a
+       number of commands that require a working directory will be
+       disabled, such as gitlink:git-add[1] or gitlink:git-merge[1].
++
+This setting is automatically guessed by gitlink:git-clone[1] or
+gitlink:git-init[1] when the repository was created.  By default a
+repository that ends in "/.git" is assumed to be not bare (bare =
+false), while all other repositories are assumed to be bare (bare
+= true).
+
 core.logAllRefUpdates::
        Updates to a ref <ref> is logged to the file
        "$GIT_DIR/logs/<ref>", by appending the new and old