Remove pointless calls to access(2) when checking for .mailmap
authorAlex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com>
Mon, 30 Apr 2007 22:27:05 +0000 (00:27 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Mon, 30 Apr 2007 23:57:52 +0000 (16:57 -0700)
read_mailmap already returns not 0 in case of error, and nothing
seem to be interested in it. It also is silent about the fact
(read_mailmap being to chatty would justify the call to access,
but there is no point for it to be and it isn't).

Signed-off-by: Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
builtin-blame.c
builtin-shortlog.c

index 682edba..3442d28 100644 (file)
@@ -2375,7 +2375,7 @@ int cmd_blame(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
                die("reading graft file %s failed: %s",
                    revs_file, strerror(errno));
 
-       if (!no_mailmap && !access(".mailmap", R_OK))
+       if (!no_mailmap)
                read_mailmap(&mailmap, ".mailmap", NULL);
 
        assign_blame(&sb, &revs, opt);
index b57a88a..8d3f742 100644 (file)
@@ -283,8 +283,7 @@ int cmd_shortlog(int argc, const char **argv, const char *prefix)
        if (argc > 1)
                die ("unrecognized argument: %s", argv[1]);
 
-       if (!access(".mailmap", R_OK))
-               read_mailmap(&mailmap, ".mailmap", &common_repo_prefix);
+       read_mailmap(&mailmap, ".mailmap", &common_repo_prefix);
 
        if (rev.pending.nr == 0) {
                if (isatty(0))