git-sh-setup: introduce say() for quiet options
authorStephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Tue, 16 Jun 2009 22:32:59 +0000 (15:32 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 18 Jun 2009 16:50:31 +0000 (09:50 -0700)
Scripts should use say() when they want to output non-error messages.
This function helps future script writers easily implement a quiet
option by setting GIT_QUIET to enable suppression of non-error messages.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <bebarino@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-sh-setup.sh

index 80acb7d..c41c2f7 100755 (executable)
@@ -44,6 +44,15 @@ die() {
        exit 1
 }
 
+GIT_QUIET=
+
+say () {
+       if test -z "$GIT_QUIET"
+       then
+               printf '%s\n' "$*"
+       fi
+}
+
 if test -n "$OPTIONS_SPEC"; then
        usage() {
                "$0" -h