git-merge: document but discourage the historical syntax
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 30 Oct 2007 18:54:11 +0000 (11:54 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 30 Oct 2007 23:33:55 +0000 (16:33 -0700)
Historically "git merge" took its command line arguments in a
rather strange order.  Document the historical syntax, and also
document clearly that it is not encouraged in new scripts.

There is no reason to deprecate the historical syntax, as the
current code can sanely tell which syntax the caller is using,
and existing scripts by people do use the historical syntax.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-merge.txt

index eae49c4..827838f 100644 (file)
@@ -11,26 +11,27 @@ SYNOPSIS
 [verse]
 'git-merge' [-n] [--summary] [--no-commit] [--squash] [-s <strategy>]...
        [-m <msg>] <remote> <remote>...
+'git-merge' <msg> HEAD <remote>...
 
 DESCRIPTION
 -----------
 This is the top-level interface to the merge machinery
 which drives multiple merge strategy scripts.
 
+The second syntax (<msg> `HEAD` <remote>) is supported for
+historical reasons.  Do not use it from the command line or in
+new scripts.  It is the same as `git merge -m <msg> <remote>`.
+
 
 OPTIONS
 -------
 include::merge-options.txt[]
 
-<msg>::
+-m <msg>::
        The commit message to be used for the merge commit (in case
        it is created). The `git-fmt-merge-msg` script can be used
        to give a good default for automated `git-merge` invocations.
 
-<head>::
-       Our branch head commit.  This has to be `HEAD`, so new
-       syntax does not require it
-
 <remote>::
        Other branch head merged into our branch.  You need at
        least one <remote>.  Specifying more than one <remote>