notes-merge: use O_EXCL to avoid overwriting existing files
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Thu, 7 Jul 2016 20:08:30 +0000 (22:08 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 7 Jul 2016 21:16:26 +0000 (14:16 -0700)
Use the open(2) flag O_EXCL to ensure the file doesn't already exist
instead of (racily) calling stat(2) through file_exists().  While at it
switch to xopen() to reduce code duplication and get more consistent
error messages.

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
notes-merge.c

index 34bfac0..f000595 100644 (file)
@@ -298,12 +298,8 @@ static void write_buf_to_worktree(const unsigned char *obj,
        char *path = git_pathdup(NOTES_MERGE_WORKTREE "/%s", sha1_to_hex(obj));
        if (safe_create_leading_directories_const(path))
                die_errno("unable to create directory for '%s'", path);
-       if (file_exists(path))
-               die("found existing file at '%s'", path);
 
-       fd = open(path, O_WRONLY | O_TRUNC | O_CREAT, 0666);
-       if (fd < 0)
-               die_errno("failed to open '%s'", path);
+       fd = xopen(path, O_WRONLY | O_EXCL | O_CREAT, 0666);
 
        while (size > 0) {
                long ret = write_in_full(fd, buf, size);