git-gui: add horizontal scrollbar to commit buffer
authorBert Wesarg <bert.wesarg@googlemail.com>
Fri, 13 Sep 2019 20:16:28 +0000 (22:16 +0200)
committerPratyush Yadav <me@yadavpratyush.com>
Fri, 13 Sep 2019 20:43:25 +0000 (02:13 +0530)
While the commit message widget has a configurable fixed width, it
nevertheless allowed to write commit messages which exceeded this limit.
Though there is no visual clue, that there is scrolling going on. Now
there is a horizontal scrollbar.

There seems to be a bug in at least Tcl/Tk up to version 8.6.8, which
does not update the horizontal scrollbar if one removes the whole
content at once.

Suggested-by: Birger Skogeng Pedersen <birger.sp@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Bert Wesarg <bert.wesarg@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Pratyush Yadav <me@yadavpratyush.com>
git-gui.sh

index 5bc21b8..ad962d4 100755 (executable)
@@ -3363,10 +3363,16 @@ ttext $ui_comm -background white -foreground black \
        -relief sunken \
        -width $repo_config(gui.commitmsgwidth) -height 9 -wrap none \
        -font font_diff \
+       -xscrollcommand {.vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.frame.sbx set} \
        -yscrollcommand {.vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.frame.sby set}
+${NS}::scrollbar .vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.frame.sbx \
+       -orient horizontal \
+       -command [list $ui_comm xview]
 ${NS}::scrollbar .vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.frame.sby \
+       -orient vertical \
        -command [list $ui_comm yview]
 
+pack .vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.frame.sbx -side bottom -fill x
 pack .vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.frame.sby -side right -fill y
 pack $ui_comm -side left -fill y
 pack .vpane.lower.commarea.buffer.header -side top -fill x