Documentation/log: clarify what --raw means
authorMatthieu Moy <Matthieu.Moy@imag.fr>
Mon, 18 May 2015 17:55:57 +0000 (19:55 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 18 May 2015 20:42:52 +0000 (13:42 -0700)
There are several "raw formats", and describing --raw as "Generate the
raw format" in the documentation for git-log seems to imply that it
generates the raw *log* format.

Clarify the wording by saying "raw diff format" explicitly, and make a
special-case for "git log": "git log --raw" does not just change the
format, it shows something which is not shown by default.

Signed-off-by: Matthieu Moy <Matthieu.Moy@imag.fr>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/diff-options.txt

index 6cb083a..5e726e1 100644 (file)
@@ -41,8 +41,17 @@ endif::git-format-patch[]
 
 ifndef::git-format-patch[]
 --raw::
-       Generate the raw format.
+ifndef::git-log[]
+       Generate the diff in raw format.
        {git-diff-core? This is the default.}
+endif::git-log[]
+ifdef::git-log[]
+       For each commit, show a summary of changes using the raw diff
+       format. See the "RAW OUTPUT FORMAT" section of
+       linkgit:git-diff[1]. This is different from showing the log
+       itself in raw format, which you can achieve with
+       `--format=raw`.
+endif::git-log[]
 endif::git-format-patch[]
 
 ifndef::git-format-patch[]