t4126: fix test that happened to work due to timing
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 14 Jun 2008 00:16:02 +0000 (17:16 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 14 Jun 2008 05:07:34 +0000 (22:07 -0700)
The test did "reset --hard" (where the HEAD commit has an empty
blob at path "empty") followed by "> empty", expecting that
the index does not notice the file _changed_ since git wrote
it out upon "reset" if the redirection is done quickly enough.

There was no need to do the emptying, and it gave a wrong result
if "reset --hard" happened on time T and then ">empty" happened on
the next second T+1.  This fixes it.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t4126-apply-empty.sh

index 0cfd47c..ceb6a79 100755 (executable)
@@ -26,7 +26,6 @@ test_expect_success setup '
 
 test_expect_success 'apply empty' '
        git reset --hard &&
-       >empty &&
        rm -f missing &&
        git apply patch0 &&
        test_cmp expect empty
@@ -34,7 +33,6 @@ test_expect_success 'apply empty' '
 
 test_expect_success 'apply --index empty' '
        git reset --hard &&
-       >empty &&
        rm -f missing &&
        git apply --index patch0 &&
        test_cmp expect empty &&
@@ -43,7 +41,6 @@ test_expect_success 'apply --index empty' '
 
 test_expect_success 'apply create' '
        git reset --hard &&
-       >empty &&
        rm -f missing &&
        git apply patch1 &&
        test_cmp expect missing
@@ -51,7 +48,6 @@ test_expect_success 'apply create' '
 
 test_expect_success 'apply --index create' '
        git reset --hard &&
-       >empty &&
        rm -f missing &&
        git apply --index patch1 &&
        test_cmp expect missing &&