update-ref: test handling large transactions properly
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Tue, 14 Apr 2015 22:25:06 +0000 (15:25 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 13 May 2015 04:28:02 +0000 (21:28 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael Haggerty <mhagger@alum.mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t1400-update-ref.sh

index 6805b9e..7a69f1a 100755 (executable)
@@ -1065,4 +1065,32 @@ test_expect_success 'stdin -z delete refs works with packed and loose refs' '
        test_must_fail git rev-parse --verify -q $c
 '
 
+run_with_limited_open_files () {
+       (ulimit -n 32 && "$@")
+}
+
+test_lazy_prereq ULIMIT_FILE_DESCRIPTORS 'run_with_limited_open_files true'
+
+test_expect_failure ULIMIT_FILE_DESCRIPTORS 'large transaction creating branches does not burst open file limit' '
+(
+       for i in $(test_seq 33)
+       do
+               echo "create refs/heads/$i HEAD"
+       done >large_input &&
+       run_with_limited_open_files git update-ref --stdin <large_input &&
+       git rev-parse --verify -q refs/heads/33
+)
+'
+
+test_expect_failure ULIMIT_FILE_DESCRIPTORS 'large transaction deleting branches does not burst open file limit' '
+(
+       for i in $(test_seq 33)
+       do
+               echo "delete refs/heads/$i HEAD"
+       done >large_input &&
+       run_with_limited_open_files git update-ref --stdin <large_input &&
+       test_must_fail git rev-parse --verify -q refs/heads/33
+)
+'
+
 test_done