Remove references to git-fetch-pack from "git clone" documentation.
authorSteve Haslam <shaslam@lastminute.com>
Fri, 25 Jul 2008 18:37:48 +0000 (19:37 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 00:10:32 +0000 (17:10 -0700)
"git clone" no longer calls "git-fetch-pack", so the documentation is a bit
stale. Instead, state that the -u option is to be used when accessing a
repository over ssh.

Signed-off-by: Steve Haslam <shaslam@lastminute.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-clone.txt

index 91efac9..26fd1b1 100644 (file)
@@ -87,8 +87,8 @@ then the cloned repository will become corrupt.
 
 --quiet::
 -q::
-       Operate quietly.  This flag is passed to "rsync" and
-       'git-fetch-pack' commands when given.
+       Operate quietly.  This flag is also passed to the `rsync'
+       command when given.
 
 --no-checkout::
 -n::
@@ -113,9 +113,8 @@ then the cloned repository will become corrupt.
 
 --upload-pack <upload-pack>::
 -u <upload-pack>::
-       When given, and the repository to clone from is handled
-       by 'git-fetch-pack', `--exec=<upload-pack>` is passed to
-       the command to specify non-default path for the command
+       When given, and the repository to clone from is accessed
+       via ssh, this specifies a non-default path for the command
        run on the other end.
 
 --template=<template_directory>::