Do not over-quote the -f envelopesender value.
authorJim Meyering <jim@meyering.net>
Tue, 25 Sep 2007 06:48:59 +0000 (08:48 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 25 Sep 2007 07:30:19 +0000 (00:30 -0700)
Without this, the value passed to sendmail would have an extra set of
single quotes.  At least exim's sendmail emulation would object to that:

    exim: bad -f address "'list-addr@example.org'": malformed address: ' \
      may not follow 'list-addr@example.org
    error: hooks/post-receive exited with error code 1

Signed-off-by: Jim Meyering <jim@meyering.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
contrib/hooks/post-receive-email

index c589a39..1f88099 100644 (file)
@@ -571,6 +571,15 @@ generate_delete_general_email()
        echo $LOGEND
 }
 
+send_mail()
+{
+       if [ -n "$envelopesender" ]; then
+               /usr/sbin/sendmail -t -f "$envelopesender"
+       else
+               /usr/sbin/sendmail -t
+       fi
+}
+
 # ---------------------------- main()
 
 # --- Constants
@@ -607,13 +616,8 @@ if [ -n "$1" -a -n "$2" -a -n "$3" ]; then
        # resend an email; they could redirect the output to sendmail themselves
        PAGER= generate_email $2 $3 $1
 else
-       if [ -n "$envelopesender" ]; then
-               envelopesender="-f '$envelopesender'"
-       fi
-
        while read oldrev newrev refname
        do
-               generate_email $oldrev $newrev $refname |
-               /usr/sbin/sendmail -t $envelopesender
+               generate_email $oldrev $newrev $refname | send_mail
        done
 fi