run-command: add pre-exec callback
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 22 Jul 2008 07:12:46 +0000 (03:12 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 04:29:44 +0000 (21:29 -0700)
This is a function provided by the caller which is called
_after_ the process is forked, but before the spawned
program is executed. On platforms (like mingw) where
subprocesses are forked and executed in a single call, the
preexec callback is simply ignored.

This will be used in the following patch to do some setup
for 'less' that must happen in the forked child.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
run-command.c
run-command.h

index 6e29fdf..73d0c31 100644 (file)
@@ -110,6 +110,8 @@ int start_command(struct child_process *cmd)
                                        unsetenv(*cmd->env);
                        }
                }
+               if (cmd->preexec_cb)
+                       cmd->preexec_cb();
                if (cmd->git_cmd) {
                        execv_git_cmd(cmd->argv);
                } else {
index 5203a9e..4f2b7d7 100644 (file)
@@ -42,6 +42,7 @@ struct child_process {
        unsigned no_stderr:1;
        unsigned git_cmd:1; /* if this is to be git sub-command */
        unsigned stdout_to_stderr:1;
+       void (*preexec_cb)(void);
 };
 
 int start_command(struct child_process *);