diff_filespec: use only 2 bits for is_binary flag
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 17 Jan 2014 01:25:40 +0000 (20:25 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 17 Jan 2014 18:50:14 +0000 (10:50 -0800)
The is_binary flag needs only three values: -1, 0, and 1.
However, we use a whole 32-bit int for it on most systems
(both 32- and 64- bit).

Instead, we can mark it to use only 2 bits. On 32-bit
systems, this lets it end up as part of the bitfield above
(saving 4 bytes). On 64-bit systems, we don't see any change
(because the savings end up as padding), but it does leave
room for another "free" 32-bit value to be added later.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
diffcore.h

index d911bf0..79de8cf 100644 (file)
@@ -46,7 +46,7 @@ struct diff_filespec {
        unsigned is_stdin : 1;
        unsigned has_more_entries : 1; /* only appear in combined diff */
        /* data should be considered "binary"; -1 means "don't know yet" */
-       int is_binary;
+       int is_binary : 2;
        struct userdiff_driver *driver;
 };