Catch empty pathnames in trees during fsck
authorShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Sun, 29 Apr 2007 00:29:23 +0000 (20:29 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sun, 29 Apr 2007 01:06:00 +0000 (18:06 -0700)
Released versions of fast-import have been able to create a tree that
contains files or subtrees that contain no name.  Unfortunately these
trees aren't valid, but people may have actually tried to create them
due to bugs in import-tars.perl or their own fast-import frontend.

We now look for this unusual condition and warn the user if at
least one of their tree objects contains the problem.

Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
builtin-fsck.c

index 7c3b0a5..75e10e2 100644 (file)
@@ -218,6 +218,7 @@ static int fsck_tree(struct tree *item)
 {
        int retval;
        int has_full_path = 0;
+       int has_empty_name = 0;
        int has_zero_pad = 0;
        int has_bad_modes = 0;
        int has_dup_entries = 0;
@@ -241,6 +242,8 @@ static int fsck_tree(struct tree *item)
 
                if (strchr(name, '/'))
                        has_full_path = 1;
+               if (!*name)
+                       has_empty_name = 1;
                has_zero_pad |= *(char *)desc.buffer == '0';
                update_tree_entry(&desc);
 
@@ -289,6 +292,9 @@ static int fsck_tree(struct tree *item)
        if (has_full_path) {
                objwarning(&item->object, "contains full pathnames");
        }
+       if (has_empty_name) {
+               objwarning(&item->object, "contains empty pathname");
+       }
        if (has_zero_pad) {
                objwarning(&item->object, "contains zero-padded file modes");
        }