diff: remove dead code
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Wed, 7 Sep 2016 23:36:48 +0000 (16:36 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 8 Sep 2016 20:54:37 +0000 (13:54 -0700)
When `len < 1`, len has to be 0 or negative, emit_line will then remove the
first character and by then `len` would be negative. As this doesn't
happen, it is safe to assume it is dead code.

This continues to simplify the code, which was started in b8d9c1a66b
(2009-09-03,  diff.c: the builtin_diff() deals with only two-file
comparison).

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
diff.c

diff --git a/diff.c b/diff.c
index 34aa855..cc8e812 100644 (file)
--- a/diff.c
+++ b/diff.c
@@ -1252,14 +1252,6 @@ static void fn_out_consume(void *priv, char *line, unsigned long len)
                return;
        }
 
-       if (len < 1) {
-               emit_line(o, reset, reset, line, len);
-               if (ecbdata->diff_words
-                   && ecbdata->diff_words->type == DIFF_WORDS_PORCELAIN)
-                       fputs("~\n", o->file);
-               return;
-       }
-
        if (ecbdata->diff_words) {
                if (line[0] == '-') {
                        diff_words_append(line, len,