git-sh-setup: do not use repo-config to test the git directory
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sat, 12 Aug 2006 01:47:50 +0000 (18:47 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sat, 12 Aug 2006 01:52:43 +0000 (18:52 -0700)
Since repo-config does not fail in non-git directory, it is not
a good command to use to test the git-ness nor validate the
repository revision of $GIT_DIR.

Original patch by Robert Shearman but with minor fixes.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-sh-setup.sh

index d15747f..42f9b1c 100755 (executable)
@@ -35,17 +35,12 @@ case "$1" in
        exit
 esac
 
+# Make sure we are in a valid repository of a vintage we understand.
 if [ -z "$SUBDIRECTORY_OK" ]
 then
        : ${GIT_DIR=.git}
-       : ${GIT_OBJECT_DIRECTORY="$GIT_DIR/objects"}
-
-       # Make sure we are in a valid repository of a vintage we understand.
-       GIT_DIR="$GIT_DIR" git repo-config --get core.nosuch >/dev/null
-       if test $? = 128
-       then
-           exit
-       fi
+       GIT_DIR=$(GIT_DIR="$GIT_DIR" git-rev-parse --git-dir) || exit
 else
        GIT_DIR=$(git-rev-parse --git-dir) || exit
 fi
+: ${GIT_OBJECT_DIRECTORY="$GIT_DIR/objects"}