http: use internal argv_array of struct child_process
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Fri, 22 Dec 2017 11:56:59 +0000 (12:56 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 22 Dec 2017 21:33:48 +0000 (13:33 -0800)
Avoid a strangely magic array size (it's slightly too big) and explicit
index numbers by building the command line for index-pack using the
embedded argv_array of the child_process.  Add the flag -o and its
argument with argv_array_pushl() to make it obvious that they belong
together.  The resulting code is shorter and easier to extend.

Helped-by: Eric Sunshine <sunshine@sunshineco.com>
Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
http.c

diff --git a/http.c b/http.c
index 215bebe..9f2fcc9 100644 (file)
--- a/http.c
+++ b/http.c
@@ -2025,7 +2025,6 @@ int finish_http_pack_request(struct http_pack_request *preq)
        char *tmp_idx;
        size_t len;
        struct child_process ip = CHILD_PROCESS_INIT;
-       const char *ip_argv[8];
 
        close_pack_index(p);
 
@@ -2041,13 +2040,9 @@ int finish_http_pack_request(struct http_pack_request *preq)
                die("BUG: pack tmpfile does not end in .pack.temp?");
        tmp_idx = xstrfmt("%.*s.idx.temp", (int)len, preq->tmpfile);
 
-       ip_argv[0] = "index-pack";
-       ip_argv[1] = "-o";
-       ip_argv[2] = tmp_idx;
-       ip_argv[3] = preq->tmpfile;
-       ip_argv[4] = NULL;
-
-       ip.argv = ip_argv;
+       argv_array_push(&ip.args, "index-pack");
+       argv_array_pushl(&ip.args, "-o", tmp_idx, NULL);
+       argv_array_push(&ip.args, preq->tmpfile);
        ip.git_cmd = 1;
        ip.no_stdin = 1;
        ip.no_stdout = 1;