git-svn: improve repository URL matching when following parents
authorEric Wong <normalperson@yhbt.net>
Tue, 29 Jan 2008 09:18:58 +0000 (01:18 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 6 Feb 2008 21:50:21 +0000 (13:50 -0800)
This way we can avoid the spawning of a new SVN::Ra session by
reusing the existing one.

The most problematic issue is that some svn servers disallow
too many connections from a single IP, so this will allow
git-svn to fetch from those repositories with a higher success
rate by using fewer connections.

This sometimes showed up as a new (and redundant)
[svn-remote "$parent_refname"] entry in $GIT_DIR/svn/.metadata.

Signed-off-by: Eric Wong <normalperson@yhbt.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-svn.perl

index 6cc3157..7889cce 100755 (executable)
@@ -2229,7 +2229,12 @@ sub find_parent_branch {
                # just grow a tail if we're not unique enough :x
                $ref_id .= '-' while find_ref($ref_id);
                print STDERR "Initializing parent: $ref_id\n";
-               $gs = Git::SVN->init($new_url, '', $ref_id, $ref_id, 1);
+               my ($u, $p) = ($new_url, '');
+               if ($u =~ s#^\Q$url\E(/|$)##) {
+                       $p = $u;
+                       $u = $url;
+               }
+               $gs = Git::SVN->init($u, $p, $self->{repo_id}, $ref_id, 1);
        }
        my ($r0, $parent) = $gs->find_rev_before($r, 1);
        if (!defined $r0 || !defined $parent) {