bisect: visualize with git-log if gitk is unavailable
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 13:14:22 +0000 (09:14 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 17:23:45 +0000 (10:23 -0700)
If gitk is not available in the PATH, bisect ends up
exiting with the shell's 127 error code, confusing the git
wrapper into thinking that bisect is not a git command.

We already fallback to git-log if there doesn't seem to be a
graphical display available. We should do the same if gitk
is not available in our PATH at all. This not only fixes the
ugly error message, but is a much more sensible default than
failing to show the user anything.

Reported by Maxin John.

Tested-by: Maxin B. John <maxin@maxinbjohn.info>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-bisect.sh

index c21e33c..415a8d0 100755 (executable)
@@ -288,10 +288,12 @@ bisect_visualize() {
 
        if test $# = 0
        then
-               case "${DISPLAY+set}${SESSIONNAME+set}${MSYSTEM+set}${SECURITYSESSIONID+set}" in
-               '')     set git log ;;
-               set*)   set gitk ;;
-               esac
+               if test -n "${DISPLAY+set}${SESSIONNAME+set}${MSYSTEM+set}${SECURITYSESSIONID+set}" &&
+                  type gitk >/dev/null 2>&1; then
+                       set gitk
+               else
+                       set git log
+               fi
        else
                case "$1" in
                git*|tig) ;;