git-config: document accidental multi-line setting in deprecated syntax
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Wed, 8 Aug 2018 19:50:20 +0000 (12:50 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 8 Aug 2018 20:26:48 +0000 (13:26 -0700)
The bug was noticed when writing the previous patch; a fix for this bug
is not easy though: If we choose to ignore the case of the subsection
(and revert most of the code of the previous patch, just keeping
s/strncasecmp/strcmp/), then we'd introduce new sections using the
new syntax, such that

 --------
   [section.subsection]
     key = value1
 --------

  git config section.Subsection.key value2

would result in

 --------
   [section.subsection]
     key = value1
   [section.Subsection]
     key = value2
 --------

which is even more confusing. A proper fix would replace the first
occurrence of 'key'. As the syntax is deprecated, let's prefer to not
spend time on fixing the behavior and just document it instead.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-config.txt

index 14da5fc..1ac2eab 100644 (file)
@@ -430,6 +430,27 @@ http.sslverify false
 
 include::config.txt[]
 
+BUGS
+----
+When using the deprecated `[section.subsection]` syntax, changing a value
+will result in adding a multi-line key instead of a change, if the subsection
+is given with at least one uppercase character. For example when the config
+looks like
+
+--------
+  [section.subsection]
+    key = value1
+--------
+
+and running `git config section.Subsection.key value2` will result in
+
+--------
+  [section.subsection]
+    key = value1
+    key = value2
+--------
+
+
 GIT
 ---
 Part of the linkgit:git[1] suite