git-rebase: allow rebasing a detached HEAD.
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sun, 21 Jan 2007 03:11:29 +0000 (19:11 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sun, 21 Jan 2007 05:31:00 +0000 (21:31 -0800)
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-rebase.sh

index c8bd0f9..99cedad 100755 (executable)
@@ -275,8 +275,12 @@ case "$#" in
        git-checkout "$2" || usage
        ;;
 *)
-       branch_name=`git symbolic-ref HEAD` || die "No current branch"
-       branch_name=`expr "z$branch_name" : 'zrefs/heads/\(.*\)'`
+       if branch_name=`git symbolic-ref -q HEAD`
+       then
+               branch_name=`expr "z$branch_name" : 'zrefs/heads/\(.*\)'`
+       else
+               branch_name=HEAD ;# detached
+       fi
        ;;
 esac
 branch=$(git-rev-parse --verify "${branch_name}^0") || exit