git-submodule: Fix "Unable to checkout" for the initial 'update'
authorPing Yin <pkufranky@gmail.com>
Fri, 26 Sep 2008 15:33:23 +0000 (23:33 +0800)
committerShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Mon, 29 Sep 2008 15:24:19 +0000 (08:24 -0700)
Since commit 55218("checkout: do not lose staged removal"), in
cmd_add/cmd_update, "git checkout <commit>" following
"git clone -n" may fail if <commit> is different from HEAD.

So Use "git checkout -f <commit>" to fix this.

Signed-off-by: Ping Yin <pkufranky@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
git-submodule.sh

index b40f876..5888735 100755 (executable)
@@ -185,7 +185,7 @@ cmd_add()
        else
 
                module_clone "$path" "$realrepo" || exit
-               (unset GIT_DIR; cd "$path" && git checkout -q ${branch:+-b "$branch" "origin/$branch"}) ||
+               (unset GIT_DIR; cd "$path" && git checkout -f -q ${branch:+-b "$branch" "origin/$branch"}) ||
                die "Unable to checkout submodule '$path'"
        fi
 
@@ -311,8 +311,13 @@ cmd_update()
 
                if test "$subsha1" != "$sha1"
                then
+                       force=
+                       if test -z "$subsha1"
+                       then
+                               force="-f"
+                       fi
                        (unset GIT_DIR; cd "$path" && git-fetch &&
-                               git-checkout -q "$sha1") ||
+                               git-checkout $force -q "$sha1") ||
                        die "Unable to checkout '$sha1' in submodule path '$path'"
 
                        say "Submodule path '$path': checked out '$sha1'"