rebase -i: clarify what happens on a failed `exec`
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Wed, 10 Oct 2018 08:53:56 +0000 (01:53 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 11 Oct 2018 08:13:37 +0000 (17:13 +0900)
We had not documented previously what happens when an `exec` command in
an interactive rebase fails. Now we do.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-rebase.txt

index 091eb53..d9771bd 100644 (file)
@@ -420,7 +420,8 @@ idea unless you know what you are doing (see BUGS below).
 --exec <cmd>::
        Append "exec <cmd>" after each line creating a commit in the
        final history. <cmd> will be interpreted as one or more shell
-       commands.
+       commands. Any command that fails will interrupt the rebase,
+       with exit code 1.
 +
 You may execute several commands by either using one instance of `--exec`
 with several commands: