string-list: document that string_list_insert() inserts unique strings
authorHeiko Voigt <hvoigt@hvoigt.net>
Thu, 29 Mar 2012 07:21:22 +0000 (09:21 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 30 Mar 2012 16:06:04 +0000 (09:06 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Heiko Voigt <hvoigt@hvoigt.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/technical/api-string-list.txt

index ce24eb9..5a0c14f 100644 (file)
@@ -83,7 +83,9 @@ Functions
 
        Insert a new element to the string_list. The returned pointer can be
        handy if you want to write something to the `util` pointer of the
-       string_list_item containing the just added string.
+       string_list_item containing the just added string. If the given
+       string already exists the insertion will be skipped and the
+       pointer to the existing item returned.
 +
 Since this function uses xrealloc() (which die()s if it fails) if the
 list needs to grow, it is safe not to check the pointer. I.e. you may