config doc: update dot-repository notes
authorPhilip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.org>
Fri, 13 Sep 2013 21:23:16 +0000 (22:23 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 13 Sep 2013 22:30:01 +0000 (15:30 -0700)
branch.<name>.remote can be set to '.' (period) as the repository
path (URL) as part of the remote name dwimmery. Tell the reader.

Such relative paths are not 'special'. Correct the branch.<name>.merge
note.

Signed-off-by: Philip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt

index 0fa3f89..0614f33 100644 (file)
@@ -724,6 +724,8 @@ branch.<name>.remote::
        overridden by `branch.<name>.pushremote`.  If no remote is
        configured, or if you are not on any branch, it defaults to
        `origin` for fetching and `remote.pushdefault` for pushing.
+       Additionally, `.` (a period) is the current local repository
+       (a dot-repository), see `branch.<name>.merge`'s final note below.
 
 branch.<name>.pushremote::
        When on branch <name>, it overrides `branch.<name>.remote` for
@@ -749,8 +751,8 @@ branch.<name>.merge::
        Specify multiple values to get an octopus merge.
        If you wish to setup 'git pull' so that it merges into <name> from
        another branch in the local repository, you can point
-       branch.<name>.merge to the desired branch, and use the special setting
-       `.` (a period) for branch.<name>.remote.
+       branch.<name>.merge to the desired branch, and use the relative path
+       setting `.` (a period) for branch.<name>.remote.
 
 branch.<name>.mergeoptions::
        Sets default options for merging into branch <name>. The syntax and